Welzow's Fencers

Su-24MR Un Su-24MR du 11.ORAP surpris au-dessus de la Mer Baltique. © Flygvapnet.

A Su-24MR of the 11.ORAP above the Baltic Sea. © Flygvapnet.
The first Su-24MR "Fencer-E" of the 11.ORAP flew their first operational sorties from their Brandenburg base on February 17, 1986. For a few weeks, the regiment's new reconnaissance variants flew alongside the Yak-28R that they were replacing. The last "Brewer-D" indeed left Germany on July 2, 1986. Welzow was left with two squadrons entirely equipped with Su-24MR.
The Su-24MR (MR for Modifikatsirovanyy Razvedchik) was a conventional tactical reconnaissance aircraft whose large size permitted it to carry the BRK-1 embedded reconnaissance complex (Bortovoy Razvedyvatel'nyy Kompleks). The classic infrared and electronic reconnaissance systems of the BKR-1 reconnaissance suite made of the Su-24MR a much more capable reconnaissance platform than its predecessors.

Su-24MR Su-24MR A M-101 Shtik (Bayonet) Side Looking Airborne Radar (SLAR) was located inside its nose. It was possible to scan an area of 4 to 24 kilometers wide on each side alternatively with a resolution of 5 to 7.5 meters. The extension of the white paint behind the nose radome was a ruse to hide the large lateral dielectric panels of the SLAR. An AFA AP-402M rotary prism-equipped panoramic camera with a focal length of 90.5 mm was located under the fuselage right behind the front nose wheel. The Kedr (Cedar) complex included an AFA-A-100 oblique camera with a focal length of 1000 mm mounted under the left reactor air intake. This complex made it possible to jettison the exposed films housed inside a parachute-equipped cassette in flight when necessary; however, we have not been able to find how the cassette was ejected. An Aist-M (Stork) TV reconnaisssance system also found its place inside the fuselage, just behind the AP-402M camera. Finally, the Zima (Winter) IR sensor formed a small fairing that could be found set back under the right engine air intake. A data link was used to transmit the images collected by TV, IR and laser means to a ground station. The aircraft position and the time also were recorded for each picture taken. The digital data were received and analyzed with the Posrednik (Intermediary) mobile complex mounted on two trucks. Like all the "Fencer," the Su-24MR had on its back a big air scoop feeding a heat exchanger to cool the onboard systems it carried. However, the one of the "Fencer-E" seemed bigger due to its rounded top. The latter in fact housed the antenna of the ShRK-1 large band data link transmitter.

Su-24MR Su-24MR The Su-24MR had no offensive capability: the Orion-A attack radar, the Kayra-24 weapons system and the GSh-6-23M cannon that the "Fencer-D" attack aircraft carried were not mounted. However, the Rel'yef' terrain-following radar was still present. In order to ensure its survival, this variant enjoyed the remarkable Su-24M self-defense suite that included on the late production batches: an SPO-15 Bereza (Birch) radar warning and homing radar receiver, a L-082 Mak-UL (Poppy) IR missile detector, a SPS-161 Geran-F (Geranium) radar jamming system, an SPS-143 ECM complex and APP-50A flare launchers. "Fencer-F" were wired to carry R-60 or R-60M (AA-8 "”Aphid"”) short-range IR air to air missiles under their wings. The 11.ORAP aircraft often were observed with APU-60-2 adapters for two R-60 missiles under the left wing outboard pylon. As part of their mission and in addition to their standard onboard equipment, the Su-24MR from Welzow always carried one or two specialized pods such as the Konteyner n°2 that was a SRS-14 Tangazh (Pitch) ELINT pod mounted under the fuselage or the Konteyner n°1 Shpil'-2M (Spire) designed for laser low-level reconnaissance.

Su-24MR Su-24MR The images collected from an altitude of 400 meters were almost of photographic quality thanks to a 25 cm resolution. The laser system that could be used both by day and by night could cover a strip of land with a width equal to four times the aircraft altitude. The data collected were transmitted to the ground in real time with the data link. Konteyner n°3 Efir-1M (Ether) was attached only under the right wing. It was designed for measuring the levels of radioactivity in the air. The data were recorded on magnetic tapes or transmitted to the ground via the data link connection. Other external stores often observed at Welzow were the impressive 3000-liter PTB-3000 drop tanks. They were always present on the flight line, resting on wooden brackets. The "Fencer" of the 11.ORAP had a particular feature that they only shared - within the 16.VA - with the Su-24 of the 497.BAP from Grossenhain and the Su-24M of the 116.GBAP from Brand. It was a retractable in-flight refueling boom that was centered in front of the windscreen. However, unlike the aircraft of the 116.GBAP that used UPAZ-1A Sakhalin in-flight refueling pods, the Su-24MR did not practiced in-flight refueling using the "buddy-buddy" technique between them. The "Fencer-F" indeed always carried a reconnaissance pod under its belly and consequently were not equipped to carry the Sakhalin refueling pod.

Su-24MP Having lost its Yak-28PP electronic warfare aircraft in 1986, the third squadron of the 11.ORAP was back in 1989 when it received eight Su-24MP "Fencer-F" from Chortkov in Ukraine, where they operated alongside Yak-28PP within the 118.OAPREB (Otde'lnyy Aviatsionnyy Polk Radioelektronnoy Borb'i - Separate Electronic Warfare Aviation Regiment). They were the only "Fencer" of that type ever deployed outside the territory of the USSR. The Su-24MP (MP for Modifikatsirovanyy Postanovshchik-Pomekh - Modified [for] Jamming) - sometimes compared to the US EF-111 "Raven" - was expected to become the successor of the Yak-28PP within the VVS. The Su-24MP could easily be distinguished from the other "Fencer" variants by a large rectangular antenna fairing placed under its nose radome and by the two hockey stick shaped antennas of the SPS-5 Fasol' (Kidney Bean) jamming system located behind the engines air intakes as also was the case for the Yak-28PP. Like the MR variant, the MP version had no Orion-A radar and its nose was painted white to hide the rectangular dielectric panels of the jamming systems mounted inside the nose radome. The aircraft of the 11.ORAP regularly carried a ventral pod that apparently looked like the Shpil'-2M pod of the Su-24MR. However, this was a completely different equipment. The "Fencer-F" could carry two ventral pods of a type perhaps designated Konteyner n°1 and Konteyner n°2 in the manner of those of the Su-24MR. The first pod housed SPS-6 Los' (Moose) and Mimoza (Mimosa) jammers while the second was an automatic decoy launcher designed to jam radar. The electronic warfare suite of the Su-24MP was named Landysh (Lily of the valley). The Su-24MP could rely on different systems common to the M and MR models already described and carried R-60 missiles to ensure its survivability. In any event, the eight Su-24MP based at Welzow were rare aircraft. The total production of the "Fencer-F" remains an enigma - only eight aircraft plus two prototypes, or twenty, were built.

Su-24MR Un Su-24MR se présente à l'atterrissage au crépuscule à Welzow. © C.Lofting.

A Su-24MR approaching Welzow runway at sunset. © C.Lofting.
On June 5 and 7, 1991 the eight Su-24MP "Fencer-F" of the 11.ORAP left their German base to go back to the 118.OAPREB at Chortkov in Ukraine - then equipped with Yak-28PP, including some previously based at Welzow and repatriated from Werneuchen in 1989 (1). A few days earlier, precisely on May 21, the last 16 MiG-25 reconnaissance aircraft of the 931.OGRAP had moved to Welzow where they became most certainly the third squadron of the 11.ORAP. The last 16.VA "Foxbat" left Germany on 1 and 6 July, 1992 for Shatalovo. One year later, on June 15, 1993 the last two squadrons of the 11.ORAP moved their twenty-four Su-24MR to Marinovka, west of Volgograd (the former Stalingrad) in the Russian North Caucasus Military District, where a few months later they were subordinated along with the 296.BAP (ex-296.APIB from Grossenhain) to the new Russian 4.VA at Rostov-on-Don. Today, two squadrons of the former 11.ORAP always based at Marinovka are a component of the Air Base n°6970 as are two squadrons of Su-24M of the former 559.BAP (ex-559.APIB from Finsterwalde) that are stationed in Morozovsk.


Flightline Welzow La ligne de vol de Welzow le 15 juin 1993. © R.Schleiffert.

Welzow flightline on June 15, 1993. © R.Schleiffert.


notes

(1) Six aircraft would have remained operational with the 118.OAPREB, while two aircraft would have joined the 4.TsBP i PLS (Tsenter Boevoy Podgotovki i Pereuchivaniya Letnogo Sostava - Combat Training and Flight Personnel Conversion Center) at Lipetsk. The six aircraft became Ukrainian after the dissolution of the USSR and they would have finished their careers stored at the Nikolayev Aviation Repair Plant (ARZ).


 Su-24MR/MP PHOTO PAGE 
Su-24MP & MR at Welzow

11.ORAP  < Part 1

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Les escrimeurs de Welzow

Su-24MR Un Su-24MR du 11.ORAP surpris au-dessus de la Mer Baltique. © Flygvapnet.

A Su-24MR of the 11.ORAP above the Baltic Sea. © Flygvapnet.
C’est très précisément le 17 février 1986 que les premiers Su-24MR “Fencer-E” du 11.ORAP effectuaient leurs premières sorties opérationnelles à partir de leur base brandebourgeoise. Les nouveaux vecteurs de reconnaissance du régiment devaient cotoyer encore pendant quelques semaines les Yak-28R qu'ils allaient remplacer, ces derniers quittant définitivement Welzow le 2 juillet 1986. Ne restait plus alors que deux escadrons entièrement équipés de Su-24MR.
Le Su-24MR (MR pour Modifikatsirovaniy Razvedchik) était un appareil de reconnaissance tactique conventionnel si ce n’était sa taille qui lui permettait d'emporter le complexe de reconnaissance embarqué BRK-1 (Bortovoy Razvedyvatel'niy Kompleks) qui comprenait un vaste échantillonnage de moyens de reconnaissance classiques, infrarouges et électroniques, le rendant autrement plus performant que ses prédécesseurs.

Su-24MR Su-24MR Son nez abritait un radar à balayage latéral (SLAR) M-101 Chtik (Baïonnette) dont la résolution variait de cinq à sept mètres cinquante, permettant l'observeration d'une zone allant de 4 à 24 kilomètres de large de chaque côté de l'avion, alternativement. L'extension de la peinture blanche derrière le radôme nasal était une ruse pour masquer les larges panneaux diélectriques latéraux du radar SLAR. Un appareil photo de type AFA AP-402M d'une focale de 90,5 mm à prismes rotatifs destiné aux prises de vue panoramiques était logé sous le fuselage, juste derrière le train avant. Le complexe Kadr comprenait un appareil photo AFA-A-100 d'une focale de 1000 mm installé en position oblique sous l'entrée d'air du réacteur gauche. Ce complexe permettait le cas échéant de larguer en vol les films exposés à l'intérieur d'une cassette équipée d'un parachute - nous n'avons toutefois pas pu vérifier le mode opératoire de cette dernière information. Le système de reconnaisssance TV Aist-M (Cigogne) trouvait également sa place sous le fuselage, immédiatement derrière la caméra AP-402M. Enfin, les capteurs IR du complexe Zima (Hiver) formaient un petit carénage situé en retrait sous l'entrée d'air du réacteur droit. Un ensemble de liaison de type data link assurait la transmission au sol du résultat des reconnaissances (TV, IR et laser) sous forme numérique. Pour chaque image recoltée, la position de l'avion et l'heure étaient également enregistrés. Ces images et les données pouvaient alors être exploitées en temps réel grâce au complexe mobile Posrednik (Intermédiaire) monté sur deux camions. Sur son dos, le Su-24MR portait l’habituelle grande écope dorsale ayant pour fonction d’alimenter un échangeur thermique destiné au refroidissement des systèmes embarqués. Toutefois, celle du "Fencer-E" semblait plus volumineuse en raison de son dessus bombé. La "bosse" était en fait le carénage diélectrique de l'antenne du système de transmission data link à large bande ChRK-1.

Su-24MR Su-24MR En l'absence du radar d'attaque Orion-A, du système d'armes Kaïra-24 et du canon interne GCh-6-23M qui équipaient les "Fencer-D" d'attaque au sol, la version MR du Su-24 ne possédait aucune capacité offensive. Cependant, le radar de suivi de terrain Rel'yef' fut retenu. Pour assurer sa survie, cette variante bénéficiait de la suite remarquable d'autodéfense du Su-24M qui comprenait, sur les lots de production les plus aboutis, un détecteur d'alerte et de localisation radar SPO-15 Beryoza (Bouleau), un détecteur IR de missile L-082 Mak-UL (Coquelicot), un système de brouillage des radars SPS-161 Geran-F (Geranium), un complexe de contre-mesures électroniques SPS-143 et des lance-leurres APP-50A. Les "Fencer-E" étaient d'autre part câblés pour emporter, en position externe sous leur voilure, une ou deux paires de missiles air-air à courte portée R-60 ou R-60M (AA-8 "”Aphid"”) à autodirecteur infrarouge. Les appareils du 11.ORAP ont souvent été vus avec un adaptateur APU-60-2 pour deux missiles R-60 sous l'aile gauche. Dans le cadre de leur mission et en sus de leurs équipements internes standards, les “Fencer-F” de Welzow emportaient systématiquement un ou deux conteneurs spécialisés tels que en position ventrale sous fuselage, le Konteiner n°2 qui était une nacelle ELINT SRS-14 Tangaj (Tangage) ou le Konteiner n°1 Chpil'-2M (Flèche) destiné à la reconnaissance basse altitude par moyens lasers.

Su-24MR Su-24MR Les images recueillies à 400 mètres d'altitude par ce dernier système, étaient de qualité presque photographique grâce à une résolution de 25 centimètres. Ce dispositif présentant l'avantage de pouvoir être utilisé aussi bien de jour que de nuit, pouvait couvrir une bande de terrain d'une largeur égale à quatre fois l'altitude le l'avion, tandis que les données collectées étaient transmises au sol en temps réel. Fixé uniquement sous la voilure droite, le Konteiner n°3 Efir-1M (Ether) était chargé de l’enregistrement du degré de radioactivité de l'air ambiant ou du sol. Les données récoltées étaient enregistrées sur bandes magnétiques ou transmises au sol via la liaison data link. Un autre élément de la panoplie de charge des Su-24 régulièrement observé à Welzow était leurs impressionnants réservoirs pendulaires PTB-3000 de 3000 litres. Toujours présents sur les lignes de vol, où ils reposaient sur des bâtis en bois, ces énormes réservoirs profilés devaient permettre aux “Fencer” d’effectuer des vols de reconnaissance à longue distance. Les “Fencer” du 11.ORAP possédaient également une autre particularité qu'ils ne partageaient, au sein de la 16.VA, qu'avec les Su-24 du 497.BAP de Grossenhain et les Su-24M du 116.GBAP de Brand : une perche de ravitaillement en vol rétractable située juste devant le pare-brise, au centre. Cependant, contrairement aux appareils du 116.GBAP qui utilisaient des nacelles de ravitaillement en vol UPAZ-1A Sakhalin, les Su-24MR ne pratiquaient pas le ravitaillement en vol selon la technique du "buddy-buddy" - du moins entre eux. Etant donné que ces derniers emportaient systématiquement un conteneur de reconnaissance attaché en point ventral, les "Fencer-E" ne disposaient pas des équipements nécessaires permettant d'utiliser une nacelle Sakhalin.

Su-24MP Le troisième escadron du 11.ORAP ayant perdu ses Yak-28PP de guerre électronique en 1986, il fut reconstitué en 1989 lorsqu'il reçu huit Su-24MP "Fencer-F" provenant de Tchortkov en Ukraine, où ils opéraient au sein du 118.OAPREB (Otde'lniy Aviatsionniy Polk Radioelektronnoï Borbi - Régiment autonome d'aviation de guerre électronique) aux côtés de Yak-28PP. Ils furent dès lors les seuls appareils de ce type déployés hors du territoire de l'URSS. Le Su-24MP (MP pour Modifikatsirovaniy Postanovschik-Pomekh - Modification [pour le] Brouillage) - parfois comparé à l’EF-111 "Raven" américain - était prévu pour devenir le successeur au sein des VVS du biréacteur Yak-28PP. Avion aux systèmes embarqués complexes, le Su-24MP se distinguait principalement des autres modèles de “Fencer” par une grosse antenne de forme rectangulaire rapportée en mentonnière et par deux antennes en forme de crosse de hockey du système de déception électronique SPS-5 Fasol' (Haricot vert) greffées en arrière de ses entrées d’air comme cela était le cas avec le Yak-28PP. Egalement dépourvu du radar Orion-A de la version d'attaque Su-24M, le nez de l'avion était lui aussi peint entièrement en blanc, afin de masquer les panneaux diélectriques de forme rectangulaire des systèmes de brouillage électronique qui étaient disposés de part et d'autre et lui donner ainsi une apparence presque similaire aux "Fencer" communs. Les appareils du 11.ORAP emportaient régulièrement un pod ventral qui ressemblait au conteneur Chpil'-2M des Su-24MR. Il s'agissait cependant d'un tout autre équipement. Le "Fencer-F" pouvait transporter deux types de conteneurs ventraux, peut-être désignés Konteiner n°1 et Konteiner n°2 à l'instar de ceux emportés par le Su-24MR. Le premier abritait des brouilleurs de type SPS-6 Los' (Elan) et Mimoza, tandis que le second était un lance-leurres automatique destiné à brouiller les radars. L'ensemble des systèmes propres au Su-24MP formaient la suite de guerre électronique Landych (Muguet). Le cas échéant, ces avions, seuls ou en formation, auraient été chargés du brouillage des système de défense et de recherche adverses. Afin d'assurer, sa défense, le Su-24MP pouvait compter sur les différents systèmes communs aux versions M et MR déjà décrits plus haut, ainsi que sur des missiles R-60. En tout état de cause, les huit Su-24MP présents à Welzow étaient des appareils rarissimes. La production totale du "Fencer-F" reste une énigme - seulement huit appareils plus deux prototypes, voire une vingtaine, auraient été construits.

Su-24MR Un Su-24MR se présente à l'atterrissage au crépuscule à Welzow. © C.Lofting.

A Su-24MR approaching Welzow runway at sunset. © C.Lofting.
Les 5 et 7 juin 1991, les huit Su-24MP ”Fencer-F” du 11.ORAP délaissaient leur base allemande pour retrouver le 118.OAPREB à Tchortkov en Ukraine - alors équipé de Yak-28PP dont certains originaires de Welzow, rapatriés depuis Werneuchen en 1989 (1). Quelques jours plus tôt, précisément le 21 mai, les 16 derniers MiG-25 de reconnaissance du 931.OGRAP avaient rejoint Welzow où ils formèrent très certainement le troisième escadron du 11.ORAP. Ces ultimes "Foxbat" de la 16.VA quittèrent l'Allemagne les premier et six juillet 1992 pour Chatalovo. Un an plus tard, le 15 juin 1993, les deux derniers escadrons du 11.ORAP déménageaient leurs vingt-quatre Su-24MR pour Marinovka à l’ouest de Volgograd (l’ancienne Stalingrad) dans le District militaire russe du Nord-Caucase où, quelques mois plus tard et par un de ces détours qu’affectionne tant l’histoire, ils furent subordonnés aux côtés du 296.BAP (ex-296.APIB de Grossenhain) à la nouvelle 4.VA russe de Rostov-sur-le-Don. De nos jours, deux escadrons de l'ancien 11.ORAP toujours stationné à Marinovka forment une composante de la Base Aérienne n°6970, aux côtés de deux escadrons de Su-24M de l'ancien 559.BAP (ex-559.APIB de Finsterwalde) qui eux, sont stationnés à Morozovsk.


Flightline Welzow La ligne de vol de Welzow le 15 juin 1993. © R.Schleiffert.

Welzow flightline on June 15, 1993. © R.Schleiffert.


notes

(1) Six avions seraient restés en ligne avec le 118.OAPREB, tandis que deux machines auraient rejoint le 4.TsBP i PLS (Tsenter Boevoy Podgotovki i Pereouchivaniya Letnogo Sostava - Centre d'entraînement au combat et de conversion du personnel navigant) à Lipetsk. Les six avions devenus ukrainiens après la dissolution de l'URSS auraient terminé leur carrière stockés au centre de révision (ARZ) de Nikolaïev.


 Su-24MR/MP PHOTO PAGE 
Su-24MP & MR à Welzow

11.ORAP  < Part 1

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next