Flying Command Posts

Mi-6VKP Mi-6VKP The aviation forces of the GSFG were equipped with two other special variants of the Mi-6A. The first was designated Mi-6A VKP (VKP for Vozdushnyy Kommandnyy Punkt or Airborne Command Post) or "Product" izd.50A VKP. Designated "Hook-B" by NATO, it was developed on the basis from the series-produced Mi-6A especially by the Equipment Management Branch (ORO) at the 535th VVS Repair Plant in Konotop. Work on the first helicopter started in late 1972 and 36 new-built "Hooks" were finally transformed into Mi-6VKP at that plant. The helicopter was designed for combat control of the troops of a combined arms army or air army. Such helicopters were used among others to ensure uninterrupted command and control of units on the move, create new communication channels unknown to the enemy, coordinate the preparation of a tactical nuclear strike or replace a destroyed ground command post.
The "Hook-B" were not equipped with a specific communication suite; however, they carried the following communications equipments (> Link):

- 3 R-111 wide band HF complete radio sets (1) to communicate with ground troops Link 1/ Link 2.
- 1 R-130 HF complete radio set (inflight relay for R-140 radios) > Link 1 / Link 2.
- 1 R-140 HF complete radio set usable only on the ground with an external antenna deployed (R-155 receiver) > Link.
- 1 R-409 VHF complete radio-relay set usable in flight or on the ground with an external antenna deployed > Link 1 / Link 2.
- 2 R-802VYa VHF complete aviation radio sets > Link.
- 1 or 2 R-831M1 mid-range VHF complete aviation radio sets > Link.
- 1 R-847 complete telephony and radiotelegraphy short wave air radio set (R-846 receiver) > Link.
- 1 P-303 Topaz communication channel compressor for the R-409 radio (compression of radio relay lines with allocation of up to
   three telephone channels in each direction of transmission of the main line) > Link.
- 1 P-317 communication channel compressor for the R-409 radio (compresses one communication channel in telephone mode with
  a telegraph channel while maintaining the main telephone channel) > Link.

Mi-6VKP On some transmitters, several channels could be connected simultaneously on a single frequency (multiplexing or teleconferencing). The helicopter also was equipped with a Khrom-Nikel IFF system, ensuring its identification by friendly forces. Beside the regular crew of six, three radio operators and two officers were seated in the front part of the cargo compartment, while a bulkhead separated the rear section called the "salon" where command and control officers were accomodated > Photo. Finally, a storage compartment and some electronic equipment were located behind another bulkhead. Most publications mention that the Mi-6VKP could only perform its mission on the ground, when various additional antennas were deployed outside the helicopter. Two telescopic masts usually were attached horizontally to the lateral supports of the main landing gear struts on each side of the fuselage during flight. Once the helicopter had landed in an operational area, they were removed and deployed on the field with antennas attached at their top. It has been reported that they could reach up to 19.5 meters high. Also, three folding brackets to hold an antenna were attached to the fuselage behind the left front side door. Two plugs to connect antenna cables were also available on the fuselage side in the same area. However, the "Hook-B" most probably also was able to operate in flight. The efficiency of some of the antennas mounted on the tail boom (description below) would have been poor on the ground. The electric system of the helicopter had been upgraded to supply power to multiple radios, but it was the standard AI-8 APU of the Mi-6A that powered them on the ground. The endurance during flight operations was limited by storage battery capacity.

Mi-6VKP Mi-6VKP This type of "Hook" could be identified by the four large blade antennas mounted around the rear of the tail boom in front of the horizontal stabilizers (the shape and the number of antennas could vary depending on the equipment carried) and by the large U-shaped tubular antenna placed under the tail boom > Photo. Wire antennas also were stretched on the fuselage sides > Photo. Most of the time, the external self-sealing fuel tank on the starboard side was not mounted. However, a large fairing with an air intake was located in front of the usual location of that tank. It was a KO-50 kerosene heater (the same as on the starboard side of the Mi-8 and the Mi-10K) intended for heating the "salon" compartment and the helicopter's equipment in winter. The Mi-6s heating and ventilation system was indeed insufficient, even for the pilots themselves. The Mi-6VKP photographed in the GDR all seemed to be equipped with the KO-50; however, it was not the case for the entire "Hook-B" fleet. A small fuel tank whose exact function remains to be discovered, was attached outside the rear starboard fuselage. A red rectangular band sometimes was painted behind and above this tank (> Photo). Its purpose probably was to identify these flying CPs or to point out that reinforced security was required when they deployed. Bort numbers 50 (> Photo) and 53 in the 113.OSAE had that red band. A dozen of Mi-6VKP were spread among the separate combat and control squadrons (OVE BU) - one or two per unit - that were assigned to the five Soviet ground armies and the 16.VA in the GDR.

Mi-22 Mi-22 The second special "Hook" variant present in East Germany was the Mil' Design Bureau's Article 50AYa or Mi-6AYa (Ya for Yakhont or Ruby - the onboard radio and associated system suite), also designated Mi-6VzPU (VzPU for Vozdushnyy Punkt Upravleniya - airborne control post) and sometimes called Mi-6BUS (Bortovyye Uzly Svyazi - onboard communications nodes). The first helicopters built by the Rostov Helicopter Plant were introduced into service in 1975 under their Mi-22 military designation, or "Hook-C" for the West. The Mi-22 was designed for combat control of the troops of a combined arms army as was the case for the "Hook-B" and it was able to fulfill its mission both in flight and from the ground. The Yakhont communication suite improved systems management and automation while simultaneously using more communication channels (> Photo). Electronics were partially using semiconductors on this model. The IFF system of the Mi-22 was a Parol'.
The "Hook-C" carried the following radio sets:

Mi-22 - 3 R-111 wide band HF half-radio sets (1) to communicate with ground troops
   Link 1/ Link 2.
- 3 R-409 VHF complete half-radio-relay sets usable in flight or on the ground with an
   external antenna deployed > Link 1 / Link 2.
- 1 R-802VYa VHF complete aviation radio set > Link.
- 1 R-831M1 mid-range VHF complete aviation radio set > Link.
- 1 R-856 complete aviation radio set
- 1 R-857 complete aviation radio set
- 1 R-886 complete aviation radio set
- 1 P-303 "Topaz" communication channel compressor for the R-409 radio
  (compression of radio relay lines with allocation of up to three telephone channels in
   each direction of transmission of the main line) > Link.
- 1 P-317 communication channel compressor for the R-409 radio (compresses one communication channel in telephone mode with
   a telegraph channel while maintaining the main telephone channel) > Link.

Mi-22 Mi-22 The "Hook-C" antennas were less conspicuous. The major external identifying feature of a Mi-22 was the big blade antenna attached on top of the rear fuselage. Several smaller antennas were also protruding under the fuselage. The Mi-22 was also used as a ground command post: two short masts and a longer one were carried left and right, respectively, of the fuselage attached to the landing gear struts. This Mi-6A derivative was not equipped with an AI-8 APU. Instead, a TA-6 auxiliary power unit was mounted on the inside face of the right clam-shell door. This auxiliary turbine that also equipped such aircraft as the Il-76 or the Tu-154, could provide electric power to the communication equipment while in flight and when on the ground. The performance of the built-in air conditioning system was increased due to the need to heat the salon and special equipment installation areas. Consequently, the Mi-22 had no KO-50 kerosene heater and the standard fuel tank was mounted on the right side of the fuselage. Like with the Mi-6VKP, a red band sometimes was painted on the right side of the rear fuselage > Photo. The few "Hook-C" seen in East Germany were deployed alongside the Mi-6VKP in the same units because each helicopter type had its specificities.

"Hook-B" and "Hook-C" in the GDR / late 1980s - early 1990s

Let's attempt to explain the plethora of designations relative to the flying command posts. These helicopters included a command compartment (VzPU or VKP) and one or more communication nodes (BUS), which explains these different ways of designating a single helicopter. These terms were therefore not specific to a precise type of onboard hardware such as an "X" communication suite.

Epilogue

While the successor to the Mi-6 had been flying since the early 1980s, production and delivery of the Mi-26 took place at a slow pace and in limited quantities (only 150 machines would have been added to the inventory). Oranienburg was chosen to be the first overseas base where this new helicopter model was to be deployed permanently. Personnel assigned to the 239.OGVP would have been advised of this future upgrade to the Mi-26 in the early 1990s, and that unit conversion was imminent. Ultimately only a dozen "Halo" were be assigned to 16.VA HQ to replace the Mi-6s; the performance and payload capabilities of the new machine largely compensated for the greatly reduced number of helicopters. The Soviet Union's collapse and the withdrawal of the 239.OGVP from Germany put an end to this project (information taken from "Beginning of the end" by Stefan BŁttner, published in the November 2009 issue of "Aircraft").

With special thanks to Valeriy Belichenko for his unstinting help.

 Mi-6 PHOTO PAGE 
notes

(1) The concept of a complete radio set generally involved the presence of two identical radios, while a half-set consisted of a single radio. A half-set could only work in one direction, while a complete set worked in two directions or could act as a relay. A single-channel system consisting of two half-sets could operate in duplex mode. Multi-channel half-sets operated in two directions or in relay mode.

The Mi-6 & Mi-10 < Part 1

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

PC volants

Mi-6VKP Mi-6VKP Deux autres variantes particulières du Mi-6A équipaient les forces d'aviation terrestre du GFSA. La première de ces versions était désignée Mil Mi-6A VKP (VKP pour Vozdouchniy Kommandniy Pounkt ou poste de commandement aérporté), soit le "Produit" izd.50A VKP. Le "Hook-B," tel qu'il était identifié par l'OTAN, fut développé par la Branche de Gestion des Equipements (ORO) du centre de maintenance de Konotop (ARZ.535). Le travail de transformation débuta sur un Mi-6A fin 1972 - 36 machines neuves seront ensuite modifiées à Konotop. Le Mi-6VKP était conçu pour le commandement au combat d'une armée interarmes ou d'une armée aérienne. L'usage de tels appareils permettait pas exemple d'assurer la continuité du commandement avec les troupes en mouvement, de créer de nouveaux canaux de communication inconnus de l'ennemi, de coordonner les préparatifs d'une frappe nucléaire tactique ou encore de remplacer un poste de commandement terrestre détruit.
Le "Hook-B" ne jouissait pas d'une suite de communication spécifique, mais il embarquait les radios et équipements suivants (> Lien) :

Mi-6VKP - 3 ensembles (1) radios HF R-111 travaillant entre 20 et 52 MHz pour communiquer
  avec les troupes au sol > Lien 1/ Lien 2.
- 1 ensemble radio HF R-130 (relais des radios R-140 en vol) > Lien 1 / Lien 2.
- 1 ensemble radio HF R-140 utilisable seulement au sol avec une antenne externe
  déployée (récepteur R-155) > Lien.
- 1 ensemble relais radio VHF R-409 utilisable en vol ou au sol avec une antenne
  externe déployée > Lien 1 / Lien 2.
- 2 ensembles radios d'aviation VHF R-802VYa > Lien.
- 1 ou 2 ensembles radios d'aviation VHF moyenne portée R-831M1 > Lien.
- 1 ensemble radio d'aviation à ondes courtes de téléphonie et de radiotélégraphie
  R-847 (récepteur R-846) > Lien.
- 1 système de compression de canaux de communication P-303 "Topaz" pour la radio R-409 (compression des lignes de relais radio avec
  allocation d'un maximum de trois canaux téléphoniques dans chaque sens de transmission de la ligne principale) > Lien.
- 1 système de compression de canaux de communication P-317 pour la radio R-409 (réception d'une communication télégraphique via
  un canal téléphonique HF ou hertzien tout en préservant la communication téléphonique par ce canal) > Lien.

Mi-6VKP Mi-6vkp Certains émetteurs permettaient de mettre en liaison plusieurs canaux simultanément sur une seule fréquence (multiplexage ou téléconférence). Un système IFF "Khrom-Nikel'" assurait l'identification de l'hélicoptère par les forces amies. Outre les six membres d'équipage de conduite, trois opérateurs radio et deux officiers occupaient la partie avant de la soute, tandis que la section arrière dite "salon" était séparée par une cloison et accueillait les officiers d'état-major en charge du commandement > Photo. Enfin, derrière une autre cloison, se trouvait un espace de stockage et une partie des équipements électroniques. Diverses publications affirment que le Mi-6VKP ne pouvait assurer sa mission qu'une fois posé au sol. Deux mâts téléscopiques étaient stockés en position horizontale, attachés aux supports latéraux du train d'atterrissage, de chaque côté du fuselage. Lorsque le Mi-6VKP s'était posé dans sa zone d'opération, ils étaient détachés et haubannés au sol avec des antennes montées à leur sommet. Il a été rapporté que ces mâts pouvaient atteindre jusqu'à 19,5 mètres de haut. Trois supports repliables dans lesquels il était possible d'enfiler une antenne étaient également attachés au fuselage derrière la porte avant gauche. Il y avait de plus à cet endroit, deux prises sur les flancs du fuselage pour y raccorder des câbles d'antennes. Il semble néanmoins plus que probable que cet hélicoptère pouvait assurer sa mission également en plein vol. Il est clair que certaines des antennes montées sur la poutre de queue qui sont décrites plus bas, auraient eu un rendement des plus médiocres au sol. Le réseau électrique de l'hélicoptère avait été adapté pour supporter les nombreuses radios, mais c'est le groupe électrogène standard AI-8 du Mi-6A qui assurait leur alimentation au sol. Lors des opérations en vol, l'endurance était limitée par la capacité des batteries.

Mi-6VKP Mi-6VKP Ce type de "Hook" était aisément identifiable grâce aux quatre grosses antennes lames installées en couronne tout autour de la poutre de queue devant les stabilisateurs horizontaux (les formes et le nombre de ces antennes pouvait varier en fonction des équipements emportés) et à une grande antenne tubulaire en forme de U placée sous la poutre > Photo. Des antennes filaires étaient également tendues sur les flancs du fuselage > Photo. La plupart du temps, le réservoir de kérosène auto-obturant monté sur le flanc droit était absent; en revanche, on trouvait un carénage présentant une prise d'air en avant de l'emplacement habituel de ce réservoir. Il s'agissait d'un chauffage au kérosène de type KO-50, celui-là même que l'on retrouvait sur le flanc avant-droit des Mi-8 et des Mi-10K. Il avait pour tâche de veiller au confort des occupants et des équipements de l'hélicoptère en hiver. Le système de chauffage et de ventilation standard des Mi-6 était en effet insuffisant, même pour les pilotes eux-mêmes. Les Mi-6VKP photographiés en RDA semblaient tous équipés du KO-50, ce qui n'était pas le cas pour l'entièreté de la flotte de "Hook-B". D'autre part, un petit réservoir supplémentaire dont la fonction exacte reste à découvrir, était fixé à l'arrière du fuselage tribord. On trouvait parfois derrière ce réservoir un peu plus haut, une bande rectangulaire de couleur rouge (> Photo) sans doute destinée à différencier ces PC volants ou signaler qu'ils devaient faire l'objet d'une garde renforcée. Les appareils bort nomer 50 (> Photo) et 53 du 113.OSAE en étaient pourvus. Une douzaine de "Hook-B," à raison d'une ou deux machines par unité, était répartie dans les escadrons autonomes de combat et de contrôle (OVE BU) affectés aux cinq armées terrestres soviétiques stationnées en RDA, ainsi qu'à la 16.VA.

Mi-22 Mi-22 La seconde variante spéciale du "Hook" présente en Allemagne était l'izd. 50AYa ou Mil Mi-6AYa (Ya pour Yakhont ou Rubis - soit la suite de radios et systèmes associés embarqués), également désigné Mi-6VzPU (VzPU pour Vozdouchniy Pounkt Oupravleniya - poste de contrôle aérien) ou encore Mi-6BUS (Bortoviye Ouzly Svyazi - noeuds de communication embarqués). Cet autre poste de commandement aéroporté - développé par le Bureau d'études de Mil' et construit à l'usine de Rostov - destiné au contrôle d'une armée interarmes comme le "Hook-B," fut mis en service en 1975 sous la désignation militaire de Mi-22, alias "Hook-C." Le Mi-22 exercait sa fonction en vol et au sol. La suite de communication "Yakhont" améliorait la gestion des systèmes et l'automatisation tout en utilisant simultanément davantage de canaux de communication (> Photo). L'électronique faisait cette fois partiellement appel aux semi-conducteurs. C'est système IFF "Parol'" qui permettait de signaler le Mi-22 aux troupes amies.
Le "Hook-C" emportait les radios suivantes :

Mi-22 - 3 demi-ensembles (1) de radios HF R-111 travaillant entre 20 et 52 MHz pour
   communiquer avec les troupes au sol > Lien 1/ Lien 2.
- 3 demi-ensembles de relais radio VHF R-409 utilisable en vol ou au sol avec
   une antenne externe > Lien 1 / Lien 2.
- 1 ensemble radio d'aviation VHF R-802VYa > Lien.
- 1 ensemble radio d'aviation VHF moyenne portée R-831M1 > Lien.
- 1 ensemble radio d'aviation R-856
- 1 ensemble radio d'aviation R-857
- 1 ensemble radio d'aviation R-886
- 1 système de compression de canaux de communication P-303 "Topaz" pour la radio
   R-409 (compression des lignes de relais radio avec allocation d'un maximum de trois
  canaux téléphoniques dans chaque sens de transmission de la ligne principale) > Lien.
- 1 système de compression de canaux de communication P-317 pour la radio R-409 (réception d'une communication télégraphique via
  un canal téléphonique HF ou hertzien tout en préservant la communication téléphonique par ce canal) > Lien.

Mi-22 Mi-22 Le Mi-22 se distinguait particulièrement du Mi-6VKP par la discrétion de ses attributs visibles. Ainsi ses seules différences externes majeures avec la version de transport standard "Hook-A" résidaient dans la localisation sous son fuselage de plusieurs petites antennes et d'une grande antenne lame placée sur la partie antéro-supérieure du fuselage. Le Mi-22 était également utilisé comme poste de commandent au sol : deux mâts courts et un long étaient attachés respectivement à gauche et à droite du fuselage, sur les jambes du train d'atterrissage. Il n'y avait pas de groupe de démarrage AI-8 à bord. C'est en effet un groupe auxiliaire TA-6 qui le remplaçait et assurait aussi l'alimentation électrique des équipements de communication. Le TA-6 qui était une turbine utilisée comme groupe auxiliaire de puissance sur d'autres machines telles que l'Il-76 ou le Tu-154, permettait d'alimenter les radios aussi bien au sol qu'en vol. Contrairement au groupe AI-8 qui était monté sur la face interne de la porte de soute gauche, la turbine TA-6 était fixée sur la porte droite. Les Mi-22 jouissaient d'un système d'air conditionné amélioré capable de traiter la partie salon et les équipements. Ainsi, l'unité KO-50 était absente et le réservoir de carburant standard était monté sur le flanc droit du fuselage. Une bande rouge était susceptible d'être peinte sur le fuselage arrière droit comme sur les Mi-6VKP > Photo. Les quelques rares exemplaires de "Hook-C" répertoriés en Allemagne étaient déployés aux côtés des Mi-6VKP au sein des mêmes unités, chaque type d'hélicoptère ayant ses spécificités.

Liste des "Hook-B" et "Hook-C" présents en RDA

Mi-6 Ouvrons une parenthèse pour expliquer la pléthore de désignations relatives aux postes de commandement volants. Ces appareils comprenaient un compartiment de commandement (VzPU ou VKP) et un ou plusieurs postes de communications (BUS), ce qui explique les différentes terminaisons utilisées pour distinguer une seule et même machine. Ces termes n'étaient donc pas spécifiques à un type précis de matériel embarqué comme par exemple une suite de communication "X."

Epilogue

Si le successeur du Mi-6 volait depuis le début des années 80, la production et la livraison des Mi-26 ne se déroula qu'à un rythme lent et en quantité limitée (seulement 150 machines auraient été prises en compte). Oranienburg avait été retenue pour être la première base à l'étranger où ce nouveau modèle d'hélicoptère devait être déployé de manière permanente. Le personnel du 239.OGVP aurait été informé du futur rééquipement de l'unité avec des Mi-26 au début des années quatre-vingt dix et sa reconversion était imminente.
C'est seulement une douzaine de "Halot" qui devait en fin de compte être assignée au QG de la 16.VA en remplacement des Mi-6, les performances et la capacité d'emport supérieure de la nouvelle machine compensant largement la diminution des effectifs. La dissolution de l'Union Soviétique et le retrait d'Allemagne du 239.OGVP mit un terme définitif à ce projet (D'après "Beginning of the end" par Stefan Büttner, publié dans le numéro de novembre 2009 du magazine "Aircraft").

With special thanks to Valeriy Belichenko for his unstinting help.

 Mi-6 PHOTO PAGE 
notes

(1) La notion d'ensemble radio complet impliquait généralement la présence de deux radios identiques, tandis qu'un demi-ensemble était composé d'une seule radio. Un demi-ensemble ne pouvait travailler que dans une direction, tandis qu'un ensemble complet fonctionnait dans deux directions ou pouvait faire office de relais. Un système à canal unique composé de deux demi-ensembles pouvait fonctionner en mode duplex. Des demi-ensembles multi-canaux fonctionnaient dans deux directions ou en mode relais.

Les Mi-6 et Mi-10 < Part 1

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next