Tu-143 Tu-143 In addition to the aviation units equipped with reconnaissance aircraft, the Group of Soviet Forces in Germany also had reconnaissance drones on strength beginning in the late 1970s. The drone squadrons were successively subordinated to the 16.VA, to the headquarters of each ground army, and finally again to the 16.VA. This type of recce platform then provided greater precision in intelligence gathering than the aircraft of the time, the MiG-21R and the Yak-28R.
The five separate drone reconnaissance squadrons (OEBSR - Otdel'naya Eskadril'ya Bespilotnikh Samoletov-Razvedchikov) in the GDR were equipped with Tupolev Tu-143 reconnaissance drones (> Link). Unfortunately, there is no accessible information or known testimony to confirm or deny that the predecessor of the Tu-143, namely the Lavochkin La-17R - TBR-1 complex - (> Link) that was introduced into service in the mid-sixties, previously was operational with the GSFG. One can nevertheless imagine that if this was the case, the three Western military liaison missions or Western wiretapping services would have ended up observing them as was the case for the Tu-143.

Tu-143 Tu-143 Based on the experience gathered with the extraordinary Tu-123 - DBR-1 Yastreb (Falcon) complex - long-range reconnaissance drones (> Link), in the mid-sixties Tupolev's OKB-156 began to develop a new reconnaissance system designated VR-3 Reys (Flight) comprising the Tu-143 drone. The specifications required in particular that the aircraft could fly at high and low altitude (from 50 to 5000 meters - apparently under operational conditions, from 100 to 3000 meters) including in mountainous terrain, it required a limited radar signature and it had to be recovered in an area equivalent to a square with a side of 500 meters (or 700 meters depending on the sources). The first flight of a Tu-143 took place in December 1970 and the official tests ended in 1976. The system was officially adopted by the Soviet Army in 1982, although it started to be used earlier as during Exercise "Zapad 81." However, as early as 1972, the first batch of ten drones was built at the Kumertau plant in Bashkiria, after which series production began and went on until 1989 when it ended after 950 units were assembled (the Reys complex also was exported to Czechoslovakia, Romania, and Syria where it experienced combat above Lebanon).

TZM-143 Telemetry In addition to the Tu-143s themselves, the VR-3 complex included the vehicles necessary for their implementation, their reconditioning for a new launch, and the analysis of the information collected. These were mainly TZM-143 drone carriers (BAZ-135MB prime movers > Link), SPU-143 mobile launchers (> Link), a KPK-143 complex composed of three test and maintenance vehicles - an APA-50M generator set mounted on a ZiL-131 chassis (> Link) and two KIPS-1 and KIPS-2 (Kontrol'no-Proverochniye Stantsii) mobile control and test stations - and finally a POD-3 information processing unit (photo and video development and interpretation, radiation analysis, and transmission of information to consumers). Four VR-3 complexes were assigned to each squadron, which represented a total of twelve Tu-143 (four drone carriers with two Tu-143 each and four launchers with one drone each). In addition, one or more UAZ-452T-2 vans (Topoprivyazchik - Topographer) intended to record the geographical coordinates of the site before launch (> Link 1 / > Link 2) accompanied the squadron, as well as one or two AA-40 type firefighting vehicles (chassis ZiL-131 > Link). Added to this were the resupply vehicles needed for fuel, oil, compressed air, etc. A squadron was likely to (re)deploy within a radius of 500km.

UAZ-452T Support This daytime reconnaissance drone was powered by an Izotov TR3-117 reactor providing 640kg of thrust that allowed it to fly at a maximum speed of 950 km/h. A jettisonable SPRD-251 solid-fuel propellant booster assisted the drone's launch at an angle of 15 degrees - the take-off weight reached 1600 kg with this rocket. The detachable nose cone offered the capability of mounting three separate reconnaissance suites. On the one hand, there was the traditional photographic reconnaissance complex equipped with a PA-1 panoramic camera (> Link) with 120 meters of film, on the other, a TV reconnaissance variant composed of the I-429B Chibis-B (Lapwing) suite that transmitted the images by data link to the command posts (the best shots were obtained from an altitude of 200 meters; moreover their geographical coordinates were also transmitted in real time by radio), and, finally, a Sigma-R set intended to analyze the degree of radiation in the air with dosimeters. The readings along the flight route were also retransmitted to the ground by radio link. It is the ABSU-143 (Avtomaticheskaya Bortovaya Sistema Upravleniya) onboard automatic control system that among other things ensured the stability of the drone according to its center of gravity, the respect of the flight parameters, triggered the shots or the recording of the coordinates. Contrary to the Tu-141 developed more or less at the same time (see "Versions, derivatives and cousins" at the bottom of the page), with a range generally limited to 60-70km, or about 13 minutes of flight, hardly moved far from the battlefield.

SPU-143 Gyro Before a mission, the launch launch vehicle was positioned at a given point determined with equipment designated "Kvadrat" (Square). A 2T2 theodolite nicknamed "thermometer" (> Link) and a 1G17 gyrocompass (> Link on page 37) disembarked from an UAZ-452T-2 vehicle were among the equipment used for this purpose. Such equipment also was used by artillery units. We will understand all the better the importance of this step when we learn that the flight profile that only allowed two turns, was pre-programmed on the ground and then uploaded into the BVD-1 unit of the Tu-143 just before takeoff. The personnel carrying out the pre-flight tests and initiating the firing sequence were inside the cabin of the SPU-143 launcher (> Link 1 / > Link 2 / > Link 3) whose roof was made of fiberglass for strength reasons. It bore the brunt of the jet of the booster rocket on take-off and was momentarily deformed. A hinged protection plate was previously folded down in front of the windshield, while two other smaller plates mounted on either side of the radiator in normal times were placed in front of it in order to preserve it during takeoff. Before landing, the Izotov reactor stopped, and the drone entered a zoom climb to kill its forward speed. A brake chute located inside the fairing at the fin root was then deployed.

Tu-143 Tu-143 It was jettisoned when a larger brake chute located inside the large fairing at the rear above the engine nozzle was in turn deployed above the Tu-143 (picture opposite). The landing gear as well as impact probes could then extend. When these touched the ground, a retrorocket located under the parachute was fired, reducing the vertical speed from 6m/sec to 2m/sec. At the moment of touchdown, the parachute and its rocket were ejected, triggered by the compression of the landing gear oleo leg, to prevent the aircraft from being blown over by a wind gust (> Video). A TZM-143 truck equipped with an articulated arm was dispatched to recover the drone once it had landed.

Parachutes Préparation des parachutes.

Parachute preparation.
In principle, a Tu-143 would be able to fly a new mission after four hours, provided of course that it had not suffered any damage. Once ready, a Tu-143 could take off within 15 minutes. The lifespan of an aircraft was estimated at five missions. Then it was overhauled or withdrawn from service. To overcome the contingencies and speed up the recovery process if the drone landed outside the squadron area, the possibility of bringing the drone back by Mi-8T helicopter had been envisioned and put into practice at least in the USSR. An MRP-56 radio beacon was mounted on the drone for this purpose. The transport of the Tu-143 was obviously done under sling at a speed of 140 km/h under a 15-meter cable or at 200 km/h if the length was reduced to 5 meters. A small parachute was likely to be attached to the tail of the drone for stabilization purposes.

Tu-143 Un village de RDA vu depuis un Tu-143.

An East German village seen from a Tu-143.
Tu-143 While the VR-3 complex was used by different branches of the Soviet armed forces, the units implementing it were originally subordinate to the VVS, thus to the 16.VA in the GDR - at least when the "Reys" reconnaissance system entered service within the GSFG. Some squadrons destined to join the GDR (269. and 270.OEBSR - most probably the other units as well) were established in Martsiena - near Madona - in Latvia where the 924th Combat Employment and Conversion Center for Unmanned Aircraft Unit Personnel (Tsentr Boevogo Primeneniya i Pereuchivaniya Lichnogo Sostava Chastey Bespilotnikh Samoletov) was located. This unit controlled the 14th Separate UAV Research and Instructor Squadron (OIIE BSR - Otdel'naya Issledovatel'sko-Instruktorskaya Eskadril'ya Bespilotnikh Letatel'nikh Apparatov) responsible for the VR-2 systems and the 275.OIIE BSR responsible for the VR-3 systems. The squadrons were subordinated to the ground armies in 1979-80. Each Army had a small section responsible for the management of its air elements (UAA - Upravlenie Armiya Aviatsii). Eventually, the OEBSR found themselves again under the VVS command in the spring of 1988.

MiG-23ML SPU-143 According to a testimony posted on a Russian forum (> Link), all BPLA units (Bespilotniy Letatelniy Apparat - unmanned aerial vehicles) were deployed at the same time twice a year on the Wittstock training range. This is where observations of Tu-143 are reported in the USMLM Annual report for 1983. The 1984 history mentions that the MMFL photographed drones several times at Wittstock that year. Insofar as the photo opposite to the right is of French origin (although it may have been taken by another military liaison mission), it may be one of a series. However, the vehicles of these units were observed on various training ranges such as Magdeburg (Letzlinger Heide) and Redlin. Given the small size of the GDR that also included West Berlin in its centre, the Tu-143s were generally shadowed by fighters responsible for shooting them down in the event of loss of control. Also, according to a testimony, a drone from the 269.OEBSR equipped with a TV reconnaissance suite was nevertheless lost in 1986 in the Müritzsee, near Lärz. But the biennial deployment to Wittstock was probably not a systematic rule, because the units also exercised on ranges located in the USSR, such as Kapustin Yar, Mary (Dzhebel - Turkmenistan) or Chimkent (Kazakhstan). The number of annual flight hours for this type of unit was apparently very low, on the order of 2 to 3 hours.

SPU-143 SPU-143 Out of 24 "Reys" squadrons, 17 were disbanded in 1989. With the return of these units under army control soon after and despite the need to keep more of this unit type active, times were no longer favorable for such an evolution and 70% of the workforce fell by the wayside (> Link to vehicle storage). The Tu-143s carried on flying for a long time in different contexts. The M-143 (VR-3VM system), a target version of the Tu-143 that entered service in 1985, continued to serve as a target for surface-to-air missiles (1) . Others - unless they were Tu-143? - ended their career as targets for fighter aviation, especially in Ukraine, as some videos attest: > Link 1 / > Link 2. (2). More recently, some Ukrainian Tu-143s were employed during the Donbass War.

VR-3 Reys Units
UnitFPNFormationSubordinationBaseRemarks
265.OEBSR453141977-7816.VA (until 1980)Stendal (until 1987) / Zerbst (1987 - 1990) moved to Zerbst in 1988 following formation of the 440.ovp BU
1406.UAA, 3.OA (Magdebourg) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
268.OEBSR383611977-7816.VA (until 1980)Nohra (1978 - 1990)
1407.UAA, 8.GvOA (Nohra) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
269.OEBSR386761977 à Martsiena (Latvia)16.VA (until 1980) Brandis (08/1977 - 1989) / Dresden-Heller (1989 - 1990)moved to Dresden-Heller in 1989 following formation of the 485.ovp BU
1409.UAA, 1.GvTA (Dresden) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
270.OEBSR387061977-78 à Martsiena (Latvia)16.VA (until 1980)Parchim (1978 - 1990)
1410.UAA, 2.GvTA (Fürstenberg) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
290.OEBSR050401977-7816.VA (until 1980)Kietz (until 11/1989) / Prenzlau (01/12/89) moved to Prenzlau after establishing the 487.ovp BU on this new airfield was abandoned
1408.UAA, 20.GvOA (Eberswalde) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
Versions, derivatives and cousins

- In addition to the M-143 target drone mentioned at the end of the article, another derivative of the Tu-143 simply called "143" was a version intended to drop leaflets. A total of 19kg of material could fit in the nose specially adapted for this particular mission, the release being done in block or in sequence.
- You would think that the Tu-141 - VR-2 Strij (Swallow) system - was the predecessor of the Tu-143, but it was not. Its first flight dates back to 1974. The airframe was reminiscent of the Tu-143, but it was larger, and its range reached up to 950km. The employment of this drone, built in 152 units, was very similar to that of the Tu-143. However, because of its larger in size and weight, its launch pad was mounted on a trailer. There also was a M-141 target variant.
- A more efficient version of the Tu-143 designated Tu-243 (VR-3D "Reys-D" system) made its first flight in 1987 and officially entered service in 1995. The fuel capacity had been increased to give a range of 360km and the improved reconnaissance suite included an IR sensor, allowing it to operate day and night. The "Reis-DM" target version was also derived. The latter also benefitted from an improved flight control system with the ability to change altitude fifteen times and turn twenty times. Apart from a small alteration of the nose cone, the airframe of the Tu-243 remained the same, giving rise to numerous identification errors.

notes

(1) On October 4, 2011, a Sibir Airlines Tu-154M connecting Tel Aviv to Novosibirsk was shot down by a 5V28 missile from an S-200V battery (> Link) over the Black Sea at 11,000 meters. While the circumstances of the accident are controversial, we will note that the then ongoing Russian-Ukrainian air defense exercise made use of one or more Tu-143s or more likely their target version M-143 (> Link 1 / > Link 2).
(2) In 2009, around fifty Ukrainian Tu-143s were sold to the Belspetsvnechtekhnika Company in Minsk, Belarus (> Link) where they were modified into target drones to then be sold in Syria (> Link 1 / > Link 2).


previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Tu-143 Tu-143 Outre les unités aériennes équipées d'avions de reconnaissance, le Groupe des forces soviétiques en Allemagne a aligné à partir de la fin des années soixante-dix des drones de reconnaissance dont les escadrons furent successivement subordonnés à la 16.VA, à l'état-major des armées terrestres et enfin de nouveau à la 16.VA. Ce type d'appareil offrait alors une plus grande précision dans la collecte du renseignement que les vecteurs pilotés de l'époque, c'est-à-dire les MiG-21R et les Yak-28R.
Des drones de reconnaissance Toupolev Tu-143 (> Lien) équipèrent cinq escadrons autonomes d'avions de reconnaissance sans pilote (OEBSR - Otdel'naya Eskadril'ya Bespilotnikh Samoletov-Razvedtchikov) en RDA. Il n'existe malheureusement pas d'information accessible ni de témoignage connu permettant d'affirmer ou d'infirmer que le prédécesseur du Tu-143, à savoir le Lavotchkine La-17R - complexe TBR-1 - (> Lien) entré en service au milieu des annnées soixante, était auparavant en service au sein du GFSA. On peut néanmoins imaginer que si tel était le cas, les Missions militaires de liaison ou les services d'écoute électronique occidentaux auraient fini par les observer comme ce fut le cas pour les Tu-143.

Tu-143 Tu-143 Fort de l'expérience accumulée avec les extraordinaires drones de reconnaissance à long rayon d'action Tu-123 - complexe DBR-1 Yastreb (Faucon) - (> Lien), l'OKB-156 de Toupolev commença à développer un nouveau système de reconnaissance désigné VR-3 Reys (Voyage) comprenant le drone Tu-143 au milieu des années soixante. Le cahier des charges exigeait notamment que l'appareil puisse voler à haute et basse altitude (de 50 à 5000 mètres - en condition opérationnelles, de 100 à 3000 mètres semble-t-il) y compris en terrain montagneux, avoir une signature radar limitée et pouvoir être récupéré dans une zone équivalente à un carré de 500 mètres de côté (ou 700 mètres selon les sources). Le premier vol d'un Tu-143 eut lieu en décembre 1970 et les essais officiels se terminèrent en 1976 - le système étant officiellement adopté par l'Armée soviétique en 1982, non sans qu'il ne soit utilisé auparavant comme lors de l'exercie "Zapad 81". Mais dès 1972, un premier lot d'une dizaine d'appareils - en quelque sorte une pré-série - fut construit à l'usine de Koumertaou en Bachkirie, la production en série débutant ensuite pour se terminer en 1989 après que 950 exemplaires aient été assemblés (le complexe Reys a également été exporté en Tchécoslovaquie, en Roumanie et en Syrie où il connut le combat au-dessus du Liban).

TZM-143 Telemetry Outre les Tu-143 eux-mêmes, le complexe VR-3 comprenait les véhicules nécessaires à leur mise en oeuvre, leur reconditionnement pour un nouveau tir et l'analyse des informations collectées. Il s'agissait essentiellement de transporteurs TZM-143 (châssis de véhicule BAZ-135MB > Lien), de rampes de lancement mobiles SPU-143 (> Lien), de trois véhicules de test et de maintenance formant l'ensemble KPK-143 (un groupe électrogène APA-50M monté sur châssis ZiL-131 (> Lien) et deux stations de contrôle et de tests mobiles KIPS-1 et KIPS-2 - Kontrol'no-Proverotchniye Stantsii) et enfin d'une unité de traitement des informations POD-3 (développement et interprétation photo et video, analyse radiations, transmission des informations à qui de droit). Quatre complexes VR-3 étaient affectés à chaque escadron, ce qui représentait un total de douze exemplaires de Tu-143 (quatre transporteurs avec deux drones chacun et quatre rampes de lancement avec un drone chacune). De plus, une ou plusieurs camionnettes UAZ-452T-2 (Topoprivyazchik - Topographe) destinées à relever les coordonnées géographiques du site avant le lancement (> Lien 1 / > Lien 2) accompagnaient l'escadron, de même que un ou deux véhicules de lutte contre les incendies de type AA-40 (châssis ZiL-131 > Lien). A cela s'ajoutaient les véhicules nécessaires pour faire les pleins de carburant, huile, air comprimé etc. Un escadron était susceptible de se (re)déployer dans un rayon de 500km.

UAZ-452T Support Cet appareil de reconnaissance diurne était propulsé par un réacteur Izotov TR3-117 fournissant une poussée de 640kg qui lui permettait de voler à la vitesse maximale de 950 km/h. Un propulseur d'appoint à carburant solide SPRD-251 largable assistait le lancement du drone sous un angle de 15 degrés - le poids au décollage atteignait 1600 kg avec cette fusée. Le cône nasal détachable offrait ainsi la possibilité de monter trois suites de reconnaissance distinctes. Il y avait d'une part le complexe traditionnel de reconnaissance photographique équipé d'un appareil panoramique PA-1 (> Lien) avec 120 mètres de film, d'autre part une variante de reconnaissance TV composée de la suite I-429B Tchibis-B (Vanneau) transmettait les images par data link vers les postes de commandement (les meilleures prises de vue étaient obtenues depuis une altitude de 200 mètres; de plus leurs coordonnées géographiques étaient transmises également en temps réel par radio), et, enfin, un ensemble Sigma-R destiné à analyser le degré des radiations dans l'air à l'aide de dosimètres - le résultat des relevés le long de la route de vol était également retransmis au sol par liaison radio. C'est le système de contrôle automatique embarqué ABSU-143 (Avtomatitcheskaya Bortovaya Sistema Oupravleniya) qui assurait entre autres la stabilité du drone en fonction de son centre de gravité, le respect des paramètres de vol, déclenchait les prises de vues ou encore le relevé des coordonnées. Contrairement au Tu-141 développé à peu près en même temps (voir "Versions, dérivés et cousins" en bas de page), le Tu-143 ne s'éloignait guère du champ de bataille avec un rayon d'action généralement limité à 60-70km, soit environ 13 minutes de vol.

SPU-143 Gyro Avant le tir, le véhicule lanceur était positionné à un point donné déterminé avec l'équipement désigné "Kvadrat" (Carré). Parmi le matériel utilisé à cette fin, on trouvait un théodolite 2T2 surnommé "thermomètre" (> Lien) et un gyrocompas 1G17 (> Lien en page 37) débarqués d'un véhicule UAZ-452T-2. Autant de matériel également mis en oeuvre par les unités d'artillerie. On comprendra d'autant mieux l'importance de cette étape en réalisant que le profil de vol qui ne permettait de réaliser que deux virages était pré-programmé au sol pour être ensuite introduit dans l'unité BVD-1 du Tu-143 juste avant le décollage. Le personnel effectuant les tests pré-vol et lançant la mise à feu se trouvait à l'intérieur de la cabine du lanceur SPU-143 (> Lien 1 / > Lien 2 / > Lien 3) dont le toit était en fibre de verre pour des raisons de résistence mécanique. Celui-ci subissait en effet le jet de la fusée d'appoint au décollage et se déformait momentanément. Une plaque de protection articulée était auparavant rabattue devant le pare-brise, tandis que deux autres plaques plus petites montées de part et d'autre du radiateur en temps normal étaient placées devant celui-ci afin de le préserver au moment du décollage. Avant l'atterrissage, le réacteur Izotov s'arrêtait et le drone prenait une pente de montée importante pour casser sa vitesse. Un premier parachute de freinage (dont le carénage est visible à la base de la dérive) se déployait alors.

Tu-143 Tu-143 Ce dernier était ensuite largué et un parachute plus important logé dans le gros carénage situé à l'arrière au-dessus de la tuyère du réacteur était à sont tour déployé au-dessus du Tu-143 (photo ci-contre). Le train d'atterrissage pouvait dès lors sortir, de même que des sondes d'impact. Lorsque celles-ci touchaient le sol, une rétro-fusée située sous le parachute était mise à feu, réduisant ainsi la vitesse de chute de 6m/sec à 2m/sec. Finalement, quand le train touchait le sol, la compression de ses amortisseurs enclenchait le largage du parachute et de sa fusée afin d'éviter le retournement éventuel du drone par une rafale de vent (> Video). Un camion TZM-143 muni d'un bras articulé était chargé de récupérer le drone une fois posé.

Parachutes Préparation des parachutes.

Parachute preparation.
En principe, un Tu-143 devait pouvoir être de nouveau prêt à repartir en mission au bout de quatre heures, à condition bien sûr qu'il n'ait pas subi de dommages. Une fois paré, un Tu-143 pouvait décoller dans un délai de 15 minutes. La durée de vie d'un appareil était estimée à cinq missions. Ensuite, il était révisé ou réformé. Afin de palier aux impondérables et accélérer le processus de récupération si le drone atterrissait en dehors de la zone de l'escadron, la possibilité de ramener celui-ci par hélicoptère Mi-8T avait été étudiée et mise en pratique au moins en URSS. Une balise radio MRP-56 était montée à cette fin sur le drone. Le transport du Tu-143 se faisait évidemment par héli-treuillage à la vitesse de 140 km/h sous un câble de 15 mètres ou à 200 km/h si la longueur de ce dernier était réduite à 5 mètres. Un petit parachute était susceptible d'être attaché à la queue du Tu-143 à des fins de stabilisation.

Tu-143 Un village de RDA vu depuis un Tu-143.

An East German village seen from a Tu-143.
Tu-143 Si le complexe VR-3 fut utilisé par différentes branches des forces armées soviétiques, les unités le mettant en oeuvre étaient à l'origine subordonnées aux VVS, donc la 16.VA en RDA - du moins lors l'entrée en service du système de reconnaissance "Reys" au sein du GFSA. Certains escadrons destinés à rejoindre la RDA (269. et 270.OEBSR - vraisemblablement les autres unités aussi) furent mis sur pied à Martsiena - près de Madona - en Lettonie où se trouvait 924è Centre d'entraînement au combat et de conversion opérationnelle pour le personnel des avions sans pilote (Tsentr Boevogo Primeneniya i Pereoutchivaniya Litchnogo Sostava Tchastey Bespilotnikh Samoletov). Cette unité regroupait le 14è Escadron autonome d'essai et d'instruction d'appareils aériens sans pilote (OIIE BSR - Otdel'naya Issledovatel'sko-Instrouktorskaya Eskadril'ya Bespilotnikh Letatel'nikh Apparatov) responsable des systèmes VR-2, ainsi que le 275.OIIE BSR pour les systèmes VR-3. C'est en 1979-80 que les escadrons furent subordonnés aux Armées. Chaque Armée disposait d'une petite section chargée de la gestion de ses éléments aériens (UAA - Oupravlenie Armiya Aviatsii). Finalement, les OEBSR se retrouvèrent de nouveau sous le gyron des VVS au printemps 1988.

MiG-23ML SPU-143 Selon un témoignage posté sur un forum russe (> Lien), toutes les unités de BPLA (Bespilotniy Letatelniy Apparat - véhicules aériens sans pilote) se déployaient en même temps deux fois par an sur le polygone de Wittstock. C'est bien là que des observations de Tu-143 sont rapportées dans le compte-rendu annuel pour 1983 de la USMLM. Celui de 1984 mentionne quant à lui que la MMFL a photographié des drones à plusieurs reprises à Wittstock cette année-là. Dans la mesure où la photo ci-contre à droite est d'origine française (bien qu'elle puisse avoir été prise par une autre mission militaire de liaison), il s'agit peut-être de l'une d'entre elles. Les véhicules de ces unités ont cependant été observés sur divers champs de manoeuvre tels que Magdebourg (Letzlinger Heide) et Redlin. Vu l'exiguité du territoire de la RDA englobant de plus Berlin-Ouest en son centre, les Tu-143 étaient généralement accompagnés de chasseurs chargés de les abattre en cas de perte de contrôle. Toujours d'après un témoignage, un appareil du 269.OEBSR équipé d'une suite de reconnaissance TV aurait néanmoins été perdu en 1986 dans le Müritzsee, près de Lärz. Mais le déploiement bisannuel à Wittstock n'était sans doute pas une règle systématique, car les unités s'exerçaient également sur des polygones situés en URSS, tels que Kapoustine Yar, Mary (Djebel - Turkmenistan) ou Tchimkent (Kazakhstan). Le nombre d'heures de vol annuelles de ce type d'unité était paraît-il très faible, de l'ordre de 2 à 3 heures.

SPU-143 SPU-143 Sur 24 escadrons de "Reys", 17 furent dissous en 1989. Avec de nouveau le retour de ces unités sous le contrôle de l'armée peu après et malgré la nécessité de garder davantage de ce type d'unité active, les temps n'étaient plus favorables à une telle évolution et 70% des effectifs passèrent à la trappe ( > Lien vers stockage de véhicules). Les Tu-143 ont encore volé longtemps dans des contextes différents. Le M-143 (système VR-3VM), version du Tu-143 faisant office de cible entrée en service en 1985 a continué de servir d'objectif pour les missiles sol-air (1). D'autres - à moins qu'il ne s'agisse de Tu-143 ? - ont terminé leur carrière en tant que cible pour l'aviation de chasse notamment en Ukraine, comme en témoignent quelques vidéos : > Lien 1 / > Lien 2. (2). Plus récemment, quelques Tu-143 ukrainiens ont été utilisés dans le cadre de la guerre du Donbass.

Unités de VR-3 Reys
UnitéNPCFormationSubordinationBaseRemarques
265.OEBSR453141977-7816.VA (jusque 1980)Stendal (jusque 1987) / Zerbst (1987 - 1990) déplacé à Zerbst en 1987-88 suite à la formation du 440.ovp BU
1406.UAA, 3.OA (Magdebourg) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
268.OEBSR383611977-7816.VA (jusque 1980)Nohra (1978 - 1990)
1407.UAA, 8.GvOA (Nohra) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
269.OEBSR386761977 à Martsiena (Lettonie)16.VA (jusque 1980) Brandis (08/1977 - 1989) / Dresden-Heller (1989 - 1990)déplacé à Dresden-Heller en 1989 suite à la formation du 485.ovp BU
1409.UAA, 1.GvTA (Dresden) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
270.OEBSR387061977-78 à Martsiena (Lettonie)16.VA (jusque 1980)Parchim (1978 - 1990)
1410.UAA, 2.GvTA (Fürstenberg) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
290.OEBSR050401977-7816.VA (jusque 1980)Kietz (jusque 11/90) / Prenzlau (01/12/89) déplacé à Prenzlau après l'abandon de l'établissement du 487.ovp BU sur ce nouvel aérodrome
1408.UAA, 20.GvOA (Eberswalde) (1980 - 04/1988)
16.VA (04/1988 - 1990)
Versions, dérivés et cousins

- Outre le drone cible M-143 évoqué en fin d'article, un autre dérivé du Tu-143 simplement baptisé "143" était une version destinée à larguer des tracts. Un total de 19kg de matériel pouvait se loger dans le nez spécialement adapté à cette mission particulière, le largage se faisant en bloc ou en séquence.
- On pourrait penser que le Tu-141 - système VR-2 Strij (Hirondelle) - était le prédécesseur du Tu-143, mais il n'en est rien. Son premier vol remonte à 1974. La cellule rappelle le Tu-143, mais elle est plus grande et le rayon d'action de ce drone très supérieur : 950km. La mise en oeuvre de cet appareil construit à 152 exemplaires était fort similaire à celle du Tu-143. Cependant, à cause d'une taille et d'un poids plus importants, sa rampe de lancement était remorquée. Il existait aussi une variante cible M-141.
- Une version plus performante du Tu-143 désignée Tu-243 (système VR-3D "Reys-D") a fait sont premier vol en 1987 et est entrée officiellement en service en 1995. La capacité en carburant a été augmentée pour donner un rayon d'action de 360km et la suite de reconnaissance améliorée avec notamment un capteur IR, permettant d'opérer de jour et de nuit. Une version cible "Reis-DM" a également été dérivée. Cette dernière bénéficie aussi d'un système de contrôle de vol amélioré avec la possibilité de changer quinze fois d'altitude et de virer à vingt reprises. Mis à part une petite altération du cône nasal, la cellule du Tu-243 est demeurée identique, donnant lieu à de nombreuses erreurs d'identification.

notes

(1) Le 4 octobre 2011, un Tu-154M de Sibir Airlines reliant Tel Aviv à Novosibirsk fut abattu par un missile 5V28 provenant d'une batterie de S-200V
    (>Lien) alors qu'il survolait la Mer Noire à 11.000 mètres. Si les circonstances de l'accident sont controversées, nous noterons que l'exercice de la
    défence anti-aérienne russo-ukrainien qui était alors en cours faisait usage d'un ou de plusieurs Tu-143 ou plus probablement de leur version cible
    M-143 (> Lien 1 / > Lien 2).
(2) En 2009, une cinquantaine de Tu-143 ukrainiens ont été vendus à l'entreprise Belspetsvnechtekhnika de Minsk au Belarus (> Lien) où ils ont
    été transformés en drones cibles pour être ensuite vendus en Syrie (> Lien 1 / > Lien 2).


previous Plan du site - Sitemap next