Unless otherwise indicated, the only Mi-8 variants described in this chapter are those once based in the GDR with the Group of Soviet Forces in Germany.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Un Mi-8T survole une colonne blindée est-allemande composée de chars T-55 et de transporteurs de troupes BTR-60 en route vers l'Elbe en 1980. © DR.

A Mi-8T flying over an East German armoured column composed of T-55 tanks and BTR-60 APCs, on their way to the Elbe in 1980. © DR.
One does not introduce the Mil Mi-8 and its numerous variants and sub-variants anymore. Trying to describe all of them would be quite a challenge and would reach far beyond the scope of this site. The first flight of the V-8 dates back to June 24, 1960. It was then an helicopter powered by a single turbine and it included numerous Mi-4 parts. The V-8A twin-engine version made its first untethered flight on September 17, 1962 and serial production was launched at Factory No.387 in Kazan' (Tatarstan) in 1965. The first operational models were Mi-8T (troops) transport variants with circular portholes and Mi-8P versions for the conventional transport of passengers equipped with rectangular portholes like on the Mi-8T prototypes. In order to meet production requirements, a second production line was opened at Factory No.99 in Ulan-Ude (Buryatia) in 1970 (1) . Still in production nowadays, the Mi-8 and its derivatives are in some way the helicopter counterpart of the DC-3/C-47 for the civil and military aviation.
Shortly before the start of the withdrawal of the Western Group of Forces from Germany started, the Mi-8 from disparate production batches numbered about 300. They included a wide range of variants assigned to Armeyskaya Aviatsiya units - and some VVS units - in East Germany. These units were using the "Hip" for a variety of missions, ranging from transportation to electronic warfare, including antitank warfare.

  This chapter will be divided into three parts:
- Models based on the Mi-8T airframe, except for the electronic warfare variants (two pages).
- Models based on the Mi-8MT airframe, except for the electronic warfare variants (one page).
- Electronic warfare variants based on Mi-8T and MT airframes (two pages).

The transport and assault "Hip"

> Mi-8T / Mi-8TV (1968)

Mi-8T Mi-8T Un réservoir supplémentaire de 915 litres monté dans la soute d'un Mi-8MT basé à Oranienburg. © H.Mambour.

A 915 liters auxiliary fuel tank inside the cargo hold of a Mi-8MT based at Oranienburg. © H.Mambour.
The first military Mi-8 were simple transport helicopters designated Mi-8T (T for Transportnyy - Transport) "Hip-C." They were equipped with two Isotov TV2-117A turbines rated at 1500hp and their tail rotor was on the starboard (right) side. In addition to a crew of three, these helicopters could carry 24 soldiers with their weapons, sitting on folding bench seats - less, if one or two additional 915-liter fuel tanks were mounted inside the cargo hold.

Mi-8T Alternatively, a light vehicle or a gun was likely to be carried. The maximum payload with full fuel tanks was four tons. This was limited to 2.5 tons under a sling, when a light vehicle or a cannon was hung under a DG-64 hook. The main fuel tanks were mounted on each side of the fuselage. They were available in two different sizes: 745 or 1154 liters on the left side and 680 or 1044 liters on the right side. The difference in capacity between the left and right tanks was due to the presence of a KO-50 kerosene heater unit mounted in front of the the right-hand tanks. That is the reason why there was an air intake on the right side of the fuselage. We did not find pictures showing an Mi-8T or TV equipped with large fuel tanks. Such is not the case for the Mi-8S and PS, some command and control and electronic warfare models and some Mi-8MT.

Mi-8T An LPG-2 winch able to lift 150 kg was mounted above the side door to the front left. This winch could also drive a cable running inside the fuselage up to an aperture in the belly of the helicopter where there also was a DG-64 hook. It was then used to lift the slings up to the hook (click on the photo at left for a diagram and further explanation). The LPG-150 was another winch model with slightly different characteristics but with an identical carrying capacity. It could be recognized thanks to a small aerodynamic fairing located on its top. Some helicopters were equipped with FR-100 lights mounted in the fairings of the main landing gear to facilitate sling transportation at night.
It goes without saying that the first armed version of the Mi-8T was quickly developed and declared operational in 1968. And, already, we step into a domain where errors die hard, as we will see below. The transport and assault "Hip" armed with unguided rockets or bombs were from two distinct generations. The first is the Mi-8TV "Hip-C" and "Hip-E" and the second is the Mi-8MT/MTV-2 alias "Hip-H" that will be discussed in the third page of this chapter (the latter are often incorrectly identified as the Mi-17, their export designation). Transport and assault "Hip-C" and "Hip-E" were first-generation helicopters based on the Mi-8T airframe as described in the beginning of this page.

Mi-8T Mi-8T The original Mi-8TV (TV for Transportnyy Vooruzhenyy - Armed Transport / or "TB" in Cyrillic, which will lead to considerable confusion not only in the West but also in the East!) from 1968, whose primary function was transporting troops while having a limited offensive capability, was equipped with two removable weapons racks with two weapon pylons under each one. They could carry four bombs (from 50 to 500kg) or four UB-16-57U rocket pods with 16 KARS-57 (S-5) 57mm rockets loaded in each. The S-5 rockets could have a classic explosive head, a hollow charge or a hollow charge with splitters. The maximum payload carried by the weapon racks was 1000kg.

PKV OPB-1R Incidentally, an unarmed transport Mi-8T airframe, whether military or civilian, received anchoring points for the weapon racks (or anything else like external fuel tanks) on the production line. An OPB-1R periscopic optical bombsight was mounted on the right side of the nose, next to the the co-pilot's seat - it was retractable and the circular aperture of its housing can be seen on photos showing the underside of the fuselage. However, the co-pilot was likely to resort to a rudimentary grid placed on the windscreen for low-level bombing. The pilot had a PKV collimator that he used to fire the S-5 rockets. In addition, there was a support behind each porthole window that could be opened, so that soldiers could rest a gun on it to fire during flight.
During the Afghan conflict (1979-1989) the Mi-8TVs underwent several improvised upgrades to increase their survivability and their firepower. The latter also were adapted to the Mi-8MT airframes and applied to the series production of this upgraded version of the "Hip." However, if these improvements were consequently observed in the GDR on the Mi-8MT, it was not the case for the Mi-8TV based in Eastern Germany.

Mi-8T Mi-8T These modifications included the addition of external armor plates 5mm thick on the sides of the nose (> Photo 1 - Photo 2), ASO-2V flare launchers under the tail boom, and sometimes a SOEP-V1A Lipa IR jammer (read > The Mi-24, part 1 for more information about these systems). Some helicopters also received EVU units (Ezhectorno-Vikhlopnogo Ustroystva - exhaust ejector) to dilute the exhaust gasses (> Photo). The armament carried was more varied. A Kalashnikov PKT 7.62 mm machine gun attached to a NUV-1 pivot was mounted in the nose. Also, one PKT machine gun could be fixed above each weapon rack (> Photo 1 / Photo 2). Moreover, it was possible to mount two PKT machine guns inside the helicopter on its sides. A dedicated cross-bar could be attached in the opening of the left side door to hold a weapon (> Photo). Also, there was a hatch in the right clamshell door where another PKT machine gun could be mounted. Similarly, AGS-17 grenade launchers could be mounted inside the cargo hold instead of machine guns (> Photo).

Let's close this Afghan section to return to East Germany and note that the Mi-8 based in the GDR as observed in the early 1990s benefitted from a high level of standardization. Thus, the radio equipment was standard and any different antenna observed indicated a helicopter modified for a specific mission such as the Mi-8TARK or the Mi-8T converted into a VIP configuration as described in the next page.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Des Spetsnaz de la 794ème Compagnie à destination spéciale (ORSN) à bord d'un Mi-8T du 336.OBVP de Nohra. © O.Kondrachov.

Spetsnaz of the 794th Special Purpose Company (ORSN) aboard a Mi-8T from the 336.OBVP based at Nohra. © O.Kondrachov.
"Hip-C" also were used to drop amateur or combat parachutists (2). Also, the pilots had to maintain a parachutist qualification and other members of the garrisons could take advantage of opportunities offered to them to jump. The An-2, An-14 and Mi-8 were used as jumping platforms. When parachutists jumped from an armed Mi-8 (Mi-8TV of 1968 vintage) via the left side door, a protective grid could be mounted in front of the left weapon rack to prevent a parachute from remaining hooked to it.

Mi-8T Mi-8T The paras jumped through that door in free fall, which was not the case when they jumped like the airborne troops with an automatic parachute opening thanks to a strap attached to a cable fixed to the ceiling of the cargo hold. The paratroopers indeed generally left the helicopter from the rear of the hold, of which the doors had been removed for the occasion. Two removable walls were mounted on each side of the rear cargo compartment, while a small portico closed the aperture left between them. In addition to preventing accidental falls, this made it possible to control and channel the paratroopers - a very similar configuration could be found on other platforms such as the An-26. Note also that the cargo doors were sometimes removed simply to allow a prompt disembarkation of troops on the ground from the rear.

Mi-8T Aménagement à 12 civières de la soute d'un Mi-8T.

Layout of an Mi-8T cargo hold with 12 stretchers.
Another temporary modification consisted of converting an helicopter into a medical variant simply by mounting six stretchers on one side of the fuselage, or by equipping the entire cargo hold with twelve stretchers and a minimum amount of medical equipment.
The Mi-8 for some years also played the rather unusual role of light aircraft interceptors. It seems that an alert system was established after the Berlin crisis in 1961. Mi-4s and later Mi-8s were ready to take off from their home bases, other airfields, or from outposts like the air defense radar sites located along the inner German border. The Mi-24 was better armed and faster, and they logically took over that task from 1976 on (see > The Mi-24, part 2). Potential targets of the Mi-8 were essentially of three different types. There were spy balloons that flew normally at very high altitude (usually, helicopters barely flew above 600 meters to drop skydivers).

Mi-8T Mi-8T There were also West German private airplanes and gliders that regularly crossed the border, by mistake as one can imagine. Finally, NATO helicopters patrolling along or too close to the border at less than five kilometers had to be watched. Valeri Belichenko remembers: "Until 1976, 239.OGVP crews stood combat alert in the PVO system. I don't know the exact date, perhaps 1961-1962. They also flew the Mi-4. Alert took place during the summer at the radar posts at Grevesmühlen, Wachstedt, Geba and Hillersleben (the latter did not exist during my time) and, during the winter, at Parchim and Nohra airfields during daylight hours and at Readiness N°2. I arrived at the regiment in December 1971. My first alert duty as pilot-navigator was during the summer of 1972 at the Wachstedt radar site. I was there for 17 days. One crew set the record of 27 days. After that, things were regulated and, in accordance with the NIAS [Aviation Engineering Service Manual], the shift changed every 10 days (weather permitting). In 1974, combat alert at the Stelzen radar site was added. I was at all of them except Nohra. Crews with a day VFR, day IFR and night VFR rating were assigned combat alert; after 1974, only first- and second-class pilots were assigned."

SF-25 "Besides instruction and monitoring in the regiment, they also sat combat alert in the zone of the aviation corps command posts (Wittenberg [61.GvIAK] and Wittstock [71.IAK]). We had threatening armament: three pistols and one automatic weapon; the helicopter itself was not armed. When the intruder did not obey our orders, we forced him to land with the rotor wash (3). At the radar site there was an APA [auxiliary power unit] and a TZ [fuel truck] with driver and a cook for the crew. There was an OBU [combat control officer] from the fighter aviation regiment on duty who controlled us and the alert aircraft in his zone, and an enlisted communicator with a radio. There were radio, telephone and loudspeaker communications with the radar site command post: one long tone - Readiness N°1; two short tones - start engines; three short tones - launch. We were called upon to escort Iroquois, Kiowa and Huey Cobra choppers along the border, but they usually didn't cross the line. Light private and sports planes were the violators. In the summer of 1971, a drunken Dane with two passengers aboard was forced down at Damgarten. The crew (if memory serves) was flight commander Captain Petrov, pilot-navigator Senior Lieutenant Kurylev and crew chief Senior Lieutenant Tel'noy; they chased him for a long time over the Baltic until finally forcing him down. In the fall of 1974 the crew of Captain N. P. Zhulidov, pilot navigator Lieutenant A. G. Korenev and crew chief N. S. Polushin forced a lost sports plane down at the Geba radar site. In a bank during landing, the helicopter damaged a rotor. In all, 239.OGVP crews forced down nine aircraft violators. During the summer of 1976, Mi-24 from the OBVP took up combat alert."

On the other hand, the Mi-8s sometimes chased away the opportunity targets: the Western allied military liaison mission vehicles! Bill Burhans of the USMLM remembers: "I know that at least on one occasion an Air Team tour was chased away from Wachstedt (if memory serves!) by an Mi-8 that was quite persistent. The guys had to find some thick woods and hide themselves away from the bird. I always wondered why helicopters weren't used more often in that role to help in the surveillance effort against the Western military missions." More testimonials from the other missions exist, such as the one published by Steve Gibson (BRIXMIS) in his book "The Last Mission," describing his pursuit by an aggressive Mi-8.

The 1968 vintage Mi-8TV were familiary called Mi-8T in service, like the unarmed airframes. Unless otherwise stated in the text and picture captions and to avoid confusion with the next model which reused the same "TV" designation - see next page - this armed version will be designated Mi-8T on this site.

Mi-8T Photo censurée d'un Mi-8T faisant partie d'un groupe débarquant des troupes quelque part dans la campagne est-allemande. © MLM.

A group of Mi-8T has just unloaded its troops in the East German countryside. © MLM.
notes

(1) Helicopters produced after the fall of the Soviet Union bear a different designation, depending on where they are built. Thus, the basic Mi-8T and Mi-8MT airframes retain those designations when they come out of Ulan-Ude, whereas the Mi-8 built at Kazan are respectively called Mi-8AT and Mi-8AMT.
(2) Upon withdrawal from Germany, there were five separate airborne assault battalions stationed in Fürstenberg, Eberswalde, Magdeburg, Dresden and Nohra. One was attached to each of the five ground armies deployed in the GDR. There was also an independent brigade in Cottbus and an independent Spetsnaz brigade in Neu-Thymen. In addition, Spetsnaz companies were subordinated directly to the headquarters of the five armies (From S. Büttner, "Beginning of the End" in Aircraft November 2009).
(3) Demonstration of the interception of a Cessna 150 by a Mi-24 (and a Su-27) on this > VIDEO filmed in the Kaliningrad district.


The Mi-8  > Part 2

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Sauf mention spéciale et à l'image des autres types d'appareils décrits sur ce site, ne sont traitées dans ce chapitre que les versions du Mi-8 ayant été en service avec le Groupe des Forces Soviétiques en Allemagne.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Un Mi-8T survole une colonne blindée est-allemande composée de chars T-55 et de transporteurs de troupes BTR-60 en route vers l'Elbe en 1980. © DR.

A Mi-8T flying over an East German armoured column composed of T-55 tanks and BTR-60 APCs, on their way to the Elbe in 1980. © DR.
On ne présente plus le Mil Mi-8 et les nombreuses versions et sous-versions qui en ont été déclinées. Vouloir toute les citer serait une véritable gageure et dépasserait largement le cadre de ce site. Le premier vol du V-8, précurseur des Mi-8, remonte au 24 juin 1960. Il s'agissait alors d'une machine mono turbine reprenant de nombreux éléments du Mi-4. La version bimoteur V-8A réalisa son premier vol hors entraves le 17 septembre 1962 et la production en série fut lancée à l'usine n°387 de Kazan (Tatarstan) dès 1965. Les premiers modèles disponibles étaient alors les Mi-8T de transport (de troupes) aux hublots circulaires et les Mi-8P destinés au transport conventionnel de passagers, équipés de hublots rectangulaires comme l'étaient les prototypes du Mi-8T. Une seconde chaîne de production sera ouverte à l'usine n°99 d'Oulan-Oude (Bouriatie) en 1970 afin de pouvoir faire face à la demande (1). Toujours construit à l'heure actuelle, le Mi-8 et ses dérivés sont en quelque sorte à l'hélicoptère ce que le DC-3/C-47 fut à l'aviation civile et militaire. Il est clair que plus aucun autre hélicoptère ne sera jamais produit en aussi grande quantité et dans une aussi grande variété de versions.
Peu avant le début du retrait d'Allemagne du Groupe des Forces Ouest, les Mi-8, au nombre de 300 environ, issus de lots de production disparates, présentaient un éventail de versions diverses et variées qui équipaient toutes les unités de l'Armeyskaya Aviatsiya - ainsi que quelques-unes des VVS - en Allemagne orientale. Ces unités utilisaient le "Hip" dans divers types de missions, allant du transport à la guerre électronique, en passant par le combat antichar.

  Ce chapitre se décomposera en trois parties :
- Les versions basées sur la cellule Mi-8T, hormis les modèles électroniques (deux pages).
- Les versions basées sur la cellule Mi-8MT, hormis les modèles électroniques (une page).
- Les versions électroniques, toutes cellules confondues (deux pages).

Les "Hip" de transport et d'assaut

> Mi-8T / Mi-8TV (1968)

Mi-8T Mi-8T Un réservoir supplémentaire de 915 litres monté dans la soute d'un Mi-8MT basé à Oranienburg. © H.Mambour.

A 915 liters auxiliary fuel tank inside the cargo hold of a Mi-8MT based at Oranienburg. © H.Mambour.
Les premiers Mi-8 militaires étaient donc de simples appareils de transport désignés Mi-8T (T pour Transportniy -Transport) "Hip-C." Ils étaient munis de deux turbines Isotov TV2-117A de 1500 chevaux et d'un rotor anticouple placé à tribord (droite). Outre un équipage de trois hommes, ces appareils pouvaient emporter 24 fantassins en armes assis sur des banquettes repliables - moins lorsqu'un ou deux réservoirs supplémentaires de 915 litres étaient montés en soute.

Mi-8T Alternativement, un véhicule léger ou un canon étaient susceptibles d'être embarqués. La capacité d'emport maximale avec les réservoirs pleins était de quatre tonnes. Celle-ci était limitée à 2,5 tonnes sous élingues, un crochet DG-64 permettant de supporter un véhicule léger ou un canon. Les réservoirs de carburant principaux qui étaient montés de part et d'autre du fuselage étaient disponibles en deux capacités différentes : 745 ou 1154 litres à gauche et 680 ou 1044 litres à droite. La différence de capacité entre les réservoirs gauches et droits était due à la présence d'une unité de chauffage KO-50 fonctionnant au kérosène installée devant les réservoirs droits, reconnaissable à sa prise d'air frontale. Nous n'avons pas trouvé de photos montrant un Mi-8T ou TV équipé de gros réservoirs. Tel n'est pas le cas des Mi-8S et PS, de certains modèles de commandement ou de guerre électronique et de certains Mi-8MT.

Mi-8T Un treuil LPG-2 étant capable de soulever une charge de 150kg était monté au-dessus de la porte latérale à l'avant-gauche. Ce treuil pouvait également déployer un câble qui débouchait sous le ventre de l'hélicoptère, au même niveau que le crochet DG-64. Il était alors utilisé afin d'amener les élingues vers le crochet (cliquer sur la photo ci-contre à gauche pour un schéma et davantage d'explications). Le LPG-150 était un autre modèle de treuil aux caractéristiques légèrement différentes mais dont la capacité de support était identique. On reconnaissait ce dernier au petit carénage aérodynamique qui le coiffait. Certains hélicoptères étaient équipés de lampes FR-100 montées dans les carénages du train principal, afin de faciliter les opérations de transport sous élingues nocturnes.
Bien entendu, une première version armée du Mi-8T fut rapidement développée et déclarée bonne pour le service en 1968. Et d'ores et déjà, nous entrons de plain-pied dans un domaine ou les erreurs ont la vie dure, comme nous allons le voir plus loin. Les "Hip" de transport et d'assaut, gréés selon les circonstances de conteneurs lance-roquettes ou de bombes diverses présentaient deux générations bien distinctes. Premièrement les Mi-8TV "Hip-C" et "Hip-E", et deuxièmement les Mi-8MT/MTV-2 alias "Hip-H" que nous traiterons dans la troisième page de ce chapitre (ces dernières machines sont souvent appelées à tort par leur désignation d'exportation, à savoir Mi-17). Les "Hip" des types -C et -E de transport et d'assaut étaient des Mi-8 dits de première génération, basés sur la cellule du Mi-8T telle que décrite en début de page.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Les Mi-8TV (TV pour Transportniy Vooroujeniy - Transport Armé / soit "TB" en caractères cyrilliques, ce qui conduira à de nombreuses confusions non seulement en Occident mais également à l'Est !) "Hip-C" originaux (1968), dont la fonction première était le transport de troupes tout en disposant d'une capacité offensive limitée, pouvaient accommoder deux fois deux râteliers externes latéraux démontables capables d'emporter quatre bombes (de 50 à 500kg) ou quatre conteneurs lance-roquettes UB-16-57U (de 16 roquettes KARS-57 (S-5) de 57 mm chacun) pour un poids maximum de 1000 kilos. Les roquettes S-5 pouvaient avoir une tête explosive classique, une charge creuse ou une charge creuse avec éclats. Signalons au passage que la cellule du Mi-8T de transport non armé, qu'elle soit civile ou militaire, recevait sur la chaîne de production les points d'ancrage nécessaires pour les râteliers d'armement (ou d'autres équipements comme des réservoirs externes).

PKV OPB-1R Un viseur optique périscopique rétractable de bombardement OPB-1R était monté du côté droit du nez, à l'avant-droit du siège copilote - son logement circulaire est visible sur les photos montrant le dessous du fuselage. Cependant, le copilote était susceptible de recourir à une mire rudimentaire à poser sur le parebrise pour le bombardement à basse altitude. Le pilote avait quant à lui à sa disposition un collimateur PKV lui permettant de tirer les roquettes S-5. De plus, il y avait un support derrière chaque hublot pouvant s'ouvrir, afin que les fantassins embarqués puissent y appuyer une arme pour tirer en vol.
Lors du conflit Afghan (1979-1989) les Mi-8TV ont subi quelques modifications improvisées visant à augmenter leur survivabilité et leur puissance de feu. Ces dernières ont également été adaptées aux cellules Mi-8MT et appliquées aux machines de série de cette version améliorée du "Hip." Toutefois, si ces améliorations ont par conséquent été observées en RDA sur les machines précitées, il n'en fut rien pour les Mi-8TV stationnés en Allemagne orientale.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Ces modifications consistaient à ajouter des plaques de blindage externes d'une épaisseur de 5 mm sur les côtés du nez (> Photo 1 - Photo 2), des lance-leurres ASO-2V sous la poutre de queue et parfois un brouilleur IR SOEP-V1A Lipa (lire > Les Mi-24, partie 1 pour plus d'informations sur ces systèmes). Certains appareils recevaient aussi des blocs EVU (Ejectorno-Vikhlopnogo Oustroystva - dispositif éjecteur d'échappement) de dilution des gazs d'échappement (> Photo). L'armement emporté était plus varié. Une mitrailleuse Kalachnikov PKT de 7,62 mm était montée en mentonnière, fixée sur un pivot NUV-1. D'autre part, deux mitrailleuses PKT se fixaient au-dessus des râteliers, à raison d'une arme de chaque côté du fuselage (> Photo 1 / Photo 2). De plus, il était possible de fixer deux autres mitrailleuses PKT en sabord. Une barre transversale dédiée pouvait être attachée en travers de l'ouverture de la porte latérale gauche afin de supporter une arme (> Photo). Aussi, il y avait une trappe dans la porte de soute en demi-coquille droite, derrière laquelle la possibilité de monter une arme existait. De même, l'utilisation de lance-grenades AGS-17 montés en sabord était envisageable (> Photo).

Fermons la parenthèse afghane pour revenir en RDA et remarquer le haut niveau de standardisation des Mi-8 basés en Allemagne orientale, tels qu'observés au début des années 90. Ainsi, l'équipement radio était standard et toute antenne différente indiquait un modèle modifié pour une tâche spécifique comme les Mi-8TARK ou les Mi-8T aménagés en transports VIP, tels que décrits dans la page suivante.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Des Spetsnaz de la 794ème Compagnie à destination spéciale (ORSN) à bord d'un Mi-8T du 336.OBVP de Nohra. © O.Kondrachov.

Spetsnaz of the 794th Special Purpose Company (ORSN) aboard a Mi-8T from the 336.OBVP based at Nohra. © O.Kondrachov.
Les "Hip-C" étaient aussi utilisés pour larguer des parachutistes amateurs ou d'unités combattantes (2). Les pilotes devaient également maintenir une qualification de parachutiste et d'autres membres des garnisons pouvaient profiter des opportunités de sauter qui leurs étaient offertes. An-2, An-14 et Mi-8 constituaient autant de plateformes de saut. Lorsque les parachutistes quittaient un Mi-8 armé (Mi-8TV du millésime 1968) par la porte latérale gauche pour un saut avec ouverture automatique, une grille de protection pouvait être montée devant les râteliers d'armement gauches afin d'éviter qu'un parachute n'y reste accroché.

Mi-8T Mi-8T Les parachutistes sortaient plutôt par cette porte en chute libre, ce qui n'était pas le cas quand ils sautaient comme les troupes aéroportées avec ouverture automatique du parachute via une sangle attachée à un câble fixé au plafond de la soute. Ces dernières quittaient en effet généralement l'hélicoptère par l'arrière de la soute dont les portes avaient été démontées. Deux cloisons amovibles étaient montées de part et d'autre de la soute arrière, tandis qu'un petit portique fermait l'ouverture laissée entre les deux. Outre la prévention de chutes accidentelles, ce système permettait de contrôler et de canaliser les sauts - un dispositif fort semblable se retrouvait sur d'autres appareils tels que les An-26. On notera également que les portes de soute étaient aussi parfois démontées simplement afin de permettre un débarquement rapide par l'arrière de troupes au sol.

Mi-8T Aménagement à 12 civières de la soute d'un Mi-8T.

Layout of an Mi-8T cargo hold with 12 stretchers.
Une autre modification temporaire consistait à transfomer une machine en version sanitaire simplement en montant six civières d'un côté du fuselage ou en occupant toute la soute avec douze civières et un minimum de matériel sanitaire.
Les Mi-8 exercèrent également pendant quelques années le rôle peu banal d'intercepteurs d'avions légers. Il semblerait en effet qu'un système d'alerte ait été mis sur pied après la crise de Berlin en 1961. Des Mi-4, puis des Mi-8, étaient prêts à décoller depuis leurs bases d'attache respectives, d'autres aérodromes, ou depuis des postes avancés comme les sites radar de la PVO proches de la frontière interallemande. Les Mi-24 étant mieux armés et plus rapides, c'est donc très logiquement qu'ils prirent la relève à partir de 1976 (voir > Les Mi-24, partie 2).

Mi-8T Mi-8T Les cibles potentielles des Mi-8 se présentaient essentiellement sous trois formes différentes. Il y avait les ballons espions qui en principe évoluaient à très haute altitude (en général, les hélicoptères ne montaient guère plus haut que 600 mètres pour larguer des parachutistes). Il y avait également les avions de tourisme et les planeurs ouest-allemands qui traversaient assez souvent la frontière, on l'imagine, par erreur. Enfin, il fallait surveiller les hélicoptères de l'OTAN qui patrouillaient le long ou trop près de la frontière à moins de cinq kilomètres. Valeri Belitchenko témoigne : "Les alertes de combat ont été introduites après le crise de Berlin. Je ne me souviens plus de la date exacte, peut-être 1961-62. Le 239.OGVP a assuré cette tâche jusque 1976. En été, les hélicoptères étaient déployés sur les sites radar de Grevesmühlen, Wachstedt, Geba et Hillersleben - ce dernier site n'existait pas encore pendant mon service. L'hiver, les hélicoptères opéraient depuis Parchim [la base d'attache de l'unité entre 1962 et 1977] et Nohra pendant la journée. Je suis arrivé au régiment en Décembre 1971. Mon premier tour d'alerte en tant que pilote-navigateur eut lieu durant l'été 1972 au site radar de Wachstedt. J'y suis resté 17 jours. Un équipage a porté une fois le record à 27 jours. Plus tard, les choses ont été régulées et les équipes changeaient tous les 10 jours si la météo le permettait. En 1974, le site radar de Stelzen fut ajouté à la liste. J'ai été en mission partout, sauf à Nohra. Les équipages qualifiés VFR/IFR de jour et VFR de nuit étaient assignés aux alertes. Après 1974, seuls les pilotes de première et de seconde classe furent sélectionnés pour ces missions."

SF-25 "Outre l'instuction et la supervision au sein du régiment, ils assuraient l'alerte de combat dans les zones des postes de commandement des Corps d'aviation (Wittenberg [61.GvIAK] et Wittstock [71.IAK]). Nous étions armés de pistolets et nous emmenions une arme automatique, mais l'hélicoptère n'était pas armé. En cas de refus, il s'agissait de forcer les intrus à atterrir en les bousculant avec le souffle du rotor (3). Sur les sites radar, il y avait un camion-groupe de démarrage, un camion-citerne, un opérateur radio et un cuisinier pour l'équipage en détachement. Un officier contrôleur de combat provenant d'un régiment d'aviation de chasse nous dirigeait, ainsi que les avions d'alerte de sa zone. Les communications avec le poste de commandement du site radar se faisaient par radio, téléphone et haut-parleurs : une longue impulsion annonçait l'état d'alerte n°1; deux courtes pour démarrer les moteurs; trois courtes pour décoller. Nous escortions des Iroquois, Kiowa et Huey Cobra le long de la frontière, mais ils ne traversaient habituellement pas celle-ci. Ce n'était pas le cas des avions de tourisme. Lors de l'été 1971, un pilote Danois ivre avec deux passagers à bord, fut forcé d'atterrir à Damgarten. L'équipage, si je me souviens bien, était composé du capitaine Petrov, commandant de bord, du lieutenant Kourylev, pilote-navigateur et du lieutenant Tel'noy, mécano navigant. Ils ont chassé l'intrus pendant longtemps au-dessus de la Baltique, avant de l'obliger à se poser. Fin 1974, l'équipage composé du capitaine N.P. Joulidov, du lieutenant A.G. Korenev, pilote-navigateur et du mécanicien navigant N.S. Polouchine, a forcé un autre appareil à se poser près du site radar de Geba, endommageant le rotor de l'hélicoptère lors d'un virage pour atterrir. Au total, les équipages du 239.OGVP ont forcé à atterrir neuf avions. Les Mi-24 prirent le relais durant l'été 1976."

D'autre part, les Mi-8 chassaient parfois les cibles d'opportunité que représentaient les Missions militaires de liaison occidentales ! Bill Burhans de la USMLM nous a fourni un témoignage indirect : "Je sais qu'en au moins une occasion, l'Equipe Air (Air Team, 16è Détachement du 7113è Escadron d'activités spéciales) a été chassée de Wachstedt par un Mi-8 insistant. Nos gars durent se réfugier dans un bois pour se cacher. Je me suis toujours demandé pourquoi les hélicoptères ne furent pas utilisés plus souvent dans ce rôle afin d'aider les efforts de surveillance contre les Missions militaires occidentales." D'autres témoignages provenant des autres Missions existent, tels que celui publié par Steve Gibson (BRIXMIS) dans son ouvrage intitulé "The Last Mission," relatant sa poursuite par un Mi-8 aggressif.

Les Mi-8TV du millésime 1968 étaient appelés familièrement Mi-8T en service, comme les cellules non armées. Sauf stipulation dans les textes et légendes photo et afin d'éviter la confusion avec le modèle suivant qui reprenait la même désignation "TV" - voir page suivante - cette version armée sera désignée Mi-8T sur ce site.

Mi-8T Photo censurée d'un Mi-8T faisant partie d'un groupe débarquant des troupes quelque part dans la campagne est-allemande. © MLM.

A group of Mi-8T has just unloaded its troops in the East German countryside. © MLM.
notes

(1) Profitons-en pour souligner que les machines produites après la chute de l'Union Soviétique portent une désignation différente, selon qu'elles ont été produites à Kazan ou à Oulan-Oude. Ainsi, les cellules de base Mi-8T et Mi-8MT conservent leurs désignations d'origine quand elles sortent d'Oulan-Oude, tandis que les appareils construits au Tatarstan sont appelés respectivemenet Mi-8AT et Mi-8AMT.
(2) Lors du retrait d'Allemagne, il existait cinq Bataillons autonomes d'assaut aéroporté stationnés à Fürstenberg, Eberswalde, Magdeburg, Dresden et Nohra. Chacun était attaché à l'une des cinq armées terrestres déployées en RDA. Il y avait également une brigade autonome à Cottbus et une brigade autonome de Spetsnaz à Neu-Thymen. De plus, des compagnies de Spetsnatz étaient à disposition directe des états-majors de ces cinq armées (D'après S.Büttner, "Beginning of the End" in Aircraft November 2009).
(3) Démonstration de l'interception d'un Cessna 150 par un Mi-24 (et un Su-27) sur cette > VIDEO tournée dans le district de Kaliningrad.


Les Mi-8  > Part 2 > Part 3 > Part 4 > Part 5

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next