The Chiefs

Mi-8VzPU Mi-8VzPU The Soviet forces relied widely on airborne command posts, whether they were airplanes (see > Airborne Command Posts) or helicopters. On-board equipment included means of ordinary radiotelephony, high-speed secure communications and radio-relay. Airborne command posts ensured continuity and stability of radio transmissions, for example when moving a command post or during the movement of troops. Contact with units cut off from the main forces could also be established and the chain of command maintained. The range and reliability of communications were increased in a timely manner, inter alia, before a nuclear attack or during an offensive, when an intense exchange of information and commands was necessary. Helicopters allowed Army commanders to directly control their troops on the battlefield in a rapidly changing situation. Control was then performed from the ground, once the helicopter had landed on a site permitting battlefield observation.

Trigger Mi-8VzPU These helicopters also acted as relays between a distant headquarters (Wünsdorf) and a field CP. In such a situation, it was then necessary to fly at an altitude of about 200 meters. In this regard, a huge buried communications complex with callsign "Ranet" (Rennet) was located at the GHQ in Zossen-Wünsdorf. This site known as the "Zeppelin Bunker" (it can be visited today) was formerly the Wehrmacht General Staff communication center. However, the Soviet complex also included smaller essential dispersed sites. Thus, the ORRUS Center (Radio-Relay Communications Support Center) using the callsign "Trigger" (Trigger - word identical in Russian and in English) was located three kilometers north of "Ranet" in the woods on the outskirts of the Wünsdorf Range. A dozen or so people served at "Trigger." This site was part of the communication chain between the GHQ and moving vehicles or field CPs. Among the different electronic equipment present on the site was a R-409 radio-relay set for communications with the airborne command posts, whether they were planes or helicopters.

Mi-8VzPU Mi-8VzPU The first helicopters transformed into airborne command posts were the Mi-4KK and -KU (see > The Mi-4). They fulfilled their missions at division level. In 1972, it was the turn of the Mi-6 to perform this task at the combined-arms army and air army level first with the Mi-6VKP version, and later the Mi-6AYa (Mi-22) in 1975 (see > The Mi-6). The Mi-8T were no exception and the first examples of a command version - at the division level - were modified in maintenance centers in the early 1970s. This new version designated Mi-8VzPU (Vozdushnyy Punkt Upravleniya - airborne control post) was often called Mi-8VKP (Vozdushnyy Kommandnyy Punkt - airborne command post) in the units. The designation Mi-8BUS (Bortovyye Uzly Svyazi - communication centers/nodes (1)) has also been reported.
Let's attempt to explain this plethora of designations. These helicopters included a command compartment (VzPU or VKP) and one or more communication nodes (BUS), which explains these different ways of designating a single helicopter. These terms were therefore not specific to a precise type of onboard hardware such as an "X" communication suite.

Mi-8VzPU Mi-8VzPU The "Hip-D" as it was known in the west differed from the Mi-8T by two inverted U-shaped tubular dorsal antennas and V-shaped double mast antennas located in lieu of the usual Doppler system housing installed under the tail boom. Two large parallelepipedic-shaped containers were attached under the lateral outriggers. The fuel tanks were of standard capacity (745 and 680 liters). Equipment proven by operation aboard the MI-6VKP was used aboard Mi-8VzPUs. Since it was assumed that radio stations would operate separately, electromagnetic compatibility with possible adverse mutual influence was not considered. A bulkhead located after the side access door separated the aft cargo hold. There was a large working table where the tactical situation was reported (VzPU), while three narrow compartments occupied by radio operators were located to its right. Another operator was sitting behind, separated by another bulkhead. The communications suite (BUS) included the following radios:

- R-111: wide band LVHF radio for command vehicles (ground troops) > Link 1/ Link 2.
- R-130 (or R-140): low-power HF radio for fixed and mobile use > Link 1 / Link 2.
- R-409: VHF/UHF radio-relay > Link 1 / Link 2.
- R-802: VHF air radio > Link 1 / Link 2.
- R-831: mid-range VHF air radio (air-to-ground communications - there also was a ground version mounted on a ZIL-130 chassis)
   > Link.
- R-847: telephony and radiotelegraphy short wave air radio > Link.

On some transmitters, several channels could be connected simultaneously on a single frequency (multiplexing or teleconferencing). The equipment at that time still largely worked with vacuum tubes and consequently was heavy and bulky. It was thus necessary to mount some of the batteries inside external pods attached to the weapon outriggers.

Mi-9 Mi-9 But the specificity of command at the divisional level sometimes required other systems and the Soviet Army's communications equipment became more sophisticated. So, a new dedicated airborne command post version of the Mi-8 was ordered by the Ministry of Defense. The new helicopter designed in 1976 was designated Mi-8IV because it carried a communication suite called "Ivolga" (Oriole). However, it went into production at Kazan' Plant n°387 in 1977 under the Mi-9 designation or "Hip-G" for NATO. As a successor to the Mi-8VzPU, it was logically intended for the command link of motorized rifle, tank and air divisions. This helicopter was recognizable by its cristiform antennas located under the tail boom and the left clamshell door. A straight antenna was attached to the right clamshell door. A dipole antenna nested inside two long ventral fairings was fixed under the fuselage. Another electrically operated antenna was fixed under the right forward part of the fuselage. It was stowed in a horizontal position and could swing to the vertical position once in flight. The clamshell doors of the aft cargo compartment were identical to those of the Mi-8PS already described; they were narrower, and their hinge axis was vertical instead of angled.

Mi-9 Mi-9 An access door was cut in the center of the two clamshell doors and a small light was installed under the tail boom to illuminate the exit. The fuel tanks were of the higher-capacity type. The Mi-9 deployed in the GDR came in different configurations (2). The first models had no Doppler container, while some helicopters were later equipped with one. Other modernized Mi-9s were equipped with ASO-2V flare launchers mounted on the fuselage sides between the last porthole and the cargo doors. In the latter case, a support for a SOEP-V1A Lipa infrared jammer also was mounted. Unlike its predecessor, the internal layout of the Mi-9 was designed specifically for the communication suite.

Mi-9 Mi-9 It was essentilly composed of a R-856MB HF radio (air and ground communications) that worked with the cristiform antennas, a R-802VYa VHF aviation radio, a R-832M Evkalipt (Eucalyptus) VHF/UHF aviation radio and two R-111 radios used to communicate with ground troops in the HF and VHF bands. These operated in flight using the swinging antenna located under the fuselage, or on the ground using an antenna mounted on a 11-meter-high mast (the sides of the Mi-9 fuselage included plugs to connect ground antennas). The onboard complex also included two R-886 receivers (D and E) and a R-405P radio-relay set. The latter could only be used on the ground, with an antenna attached to a mast erected to a height of 16.5 meters. The communication aggregate was designed for simple or complex communications (multiplexing), with voice or telegraphy. Two T-817 Yakhta (Yacht) sets made it possible to encrypt voice communications, while an M-125 Fialka (Violet) coding machine, a distant descendant of the German Enigma, allowed the sending and receiving of encoded messages via a P-590A module. Three tape recorders also were on board.

Mi-9 The interior layout consisted of four distinct parts: the cockpit; a communications center where three operators dealt with the various electronic equipment (BUS); a command post with armchairs, reading tables for maps and a storage cabinet with secure locks (VzPU) isolated from the previous compartment by a bulkhead; and finally, a cargo hold for the material isolated from the command compartment by another bulkhead. The latter compartment included, in addition to some radios, the telescopic antenna masts and an AI-8 mobile power unit intended to provide the necessary electrical power when the Mi-9 was used as a ground CP. This APU could also be used to start the helicopter engines, but in practice, it was often left behind because it weighted up to 300 kg. The air-conditioned cargo hold could accommodate up to six people. A DP-3B dosimeter was part of the onboard suite. As was very likely the case for the crews of the other specialized versions, the Mi-9's flight crew did not know anything about the equipment they were carrying.
The Mi-9 had not completely replaced the Mi-8VzPU when the Berlin Wall fell. Both versions of these airborne command posts were then assigned to the separate combat and control helicopter squadrons and regiments. A few Mi-9 also were assigned to the 113.OSAE and the aviation division HQs.

Finally, it should be noted that the Mi-8S, -PS and so-called "Salon" as described in the second part of this chapter, more than likely carried a limited communication suite that gave them some command ability.

notes

(1) One sometimes finds the BUS and the VUS (Vspomogatel'nyy Uzel Svyazi - auxiliary communications node) designations in the literature.
     The classic confusion with the Cyrillic letter "B" transliterated by the Latin character "V" seems topical. There are, however, Russian-language
     interpretations for the term VUS as > here.
     The articles in the Russian language also mention the term BUS for which there are two different expansions:
     - Bortovoy Uzel Svyazi or onboard communications node
     - Boevogo Upravleniya i Svyazi or combat control and communications
     We will stick to the BUS term as described in the text of this article as found in a document that seems reliable. We will not fail to update this article if
     necessary.
(2) Mi-9 observed in Russia and Czechoslovakia were not necessarily equipped with the same radios and antennas as those described in this article.


The Mi-8  < Part 1 < Part 2 < Part 3 < Part 4 > Part 6 > Part 7

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Les chefs

Mi-8VzPU Mi-8VzPU Les forces soviétiques faisaient largement appel aux postes de commandement aéroportés, qu'il s'agisse d'avions (voir > PC volants) ou d'hélicoptères. Les équipements embarqués à bord de ces derniers comprenaient des appareils de radiotéléphonie ordinaires ainsi que des moyens de communication à haute vitesse sécurisés et des relais radio. L'usage de PC aéroportés permettait d'assurer la continuité et la stabilité des transmissions radio, comme par exemple lors du déplacement d'un poste de commandement ou durant le mouvement des troupes. Le contact avec les unités séparées des forces principales pouvait également être établi et la chaîne de commandement être ainsi maintenue. Avec l'usage de ces appareils, la portée et la fiabilité des communications étaient accrues en temps opportun, entre autres avant une attaque nucléaire ou lors d'une offensive, lorsqu'un échange intense d'informations et de commandements aurait été nécessaire. Les hélicoptères permettaient aux commandants d'Armées de contrôler directement leurs troupes sur le champ de bataille dans une situation changeant rapidement. Cela s'effectuait alors depuis le sol, une fois posé sur un site permettant l'observation des combats.

Trigger Mi-8VzPU Ces machines assuraient également le rôle de relais par exemple entre un QG éloigné (Wünsdorf) et un poste de campagne. Dans ces conditions, il était alors nécessaire de voler à environ 200 mètres d'altitude. A ce propos, un énorme complexe de communications enterré dont l'indicatif était "Ranet" (reinette) se trouvait au GQG de Zossen-Wünsdorf. Connu comme le "Bunker Zeppelin," ce site que l'on peut visiter aujourd'hui était auparavant l'ancien centre de communication de l'Etat-major de la Wehrmacht. Cependant, l'ensemble comprenait également de plus petits sites dispersés, mais essentiels. Ainsi, le centre ORRUS (Centre de soutien aux communications radio-relais) indicatif "Trigger" (gâchette - mot identique en Russe comme en Anglais) était aménagé dans les bois à trois kilomètres au nord, à la périphérie du polygone d'entraînement de Wünsdorf. Ce site occupé par une douzaine de militaires faisait partie de la chaîne de communication permettant le contact entre le GQG et des véhicules en mouvement ou des postes de campagne. Parmi les différents équipements électroniques présents sur le site, un relais radio R-409 rendait possible la communication avec les postes de commandement aéroportés, qu'il s'agisse d'avions ou d'helicoptères.

Mi-8VzPU Mi-8VzPU Les premières voilures tournantes transformées en postes de commandement volants étaient les Mi-4KK (VKP) et -KU (voir > Les Mi-4). Ils remplissaient leurs missions à l'échelle des divisions. En 1972, ce fut au tour des Mi-6 de remplir cette tâche au niveau des armées terrestres et aériennes avec la version Mi-6VKP, puis le Mi-6AYa (Mi-22) en 1975 (voir > Les Mi-6). Les Mi-8T ne firent pas exception et les premiers exemplaires de commandement - au niveau divisionnaire - furent modifiés dans les centres de maintenance au début des années soixante-dix. La nouvelle variante désignée Mi-8VzPU (Vozdouchniy Pounkt Oupravleniya - poste de contrôle aérien) était souvent appelée Mi-8VKP (Vozdouchniy Kommandniy Pounkt - poste de commandement aéroporté) en unité. L'appellation Mi-8BUS (Bortoviye Ouzly Svyazi - noeuds de communications embarqués (1)) a également été rapportée.
Ouvrons une parenthèse pour expliquer cette pléthore de désignations. Ces appareils comprenaient un compartiment de commandement (VzPU ou VKP) et un ou plusieurs postes de communications (BUS), ce qui explique les terminaisons différentes utilisées pour distinguer une seule et même machine. Ces termes n'étaient donc pas spécifiques à un type précis de matériel embarqué comme par exemple une suite de communication "X."

Mi-8VzPU Mi-8VzPU Le "Hip-D" ainsi nommé à l'ouest, se distinguait de ses congénères par deux antennes dorsales tubulaires en forme de U inversé et par un double mât d'antennes en V à la place de l'habituel boîtier du système doppler installé sous la poutre de queue. Il emportait sous ses bâtis latéraux de larges conteneurs métalliques de formes parallélépipédiques. Les réservoirs de carburant étaient de capacité standard (745 et 680 litres). Des stations radio ayant fait leurs preuves à bord des Mi-6 furent également employées à bord des Mi-8VzPU. Comme l'emploi simultané des différents postes n'était pas envisagé, l'incompatibilité électromagnétique éventuelle entre eux ne fut pas prise en considération. Une cloison située après la porte d'accès latérale isolait la soute arrière. Une grande table de travail où était reportée la situation tactique y était installée (VzPU), alors que trois compartiments étroits occupés par des opérateurs radio étaient situés à sa droite. Un autre opérateur était installé derrière, séparé par une cloison. La suite de communications (BUS) comprenait les radios suivantes :

- R-111 : radio LVHF à large bande pour véhicules de commandement (troupes au sol) > Lien 1/ Lien 2.
- R-130 (ou R-140) : radio HF de faible puissance utilisable en fixe ou en mobile > Lien 1 / Lien 2.
- R-409 : relais radio VHF/UHF > Lien 1 / Lien 2.
- R-802 : radio d'aviation VHF > Lien 1 / Lien 2.
- R-831 : radio d'aviation VHF moyenne portée (communications air-sol - existait en version terrestre sur châssis ZIL-130) > Lien.
- R-847 : radio d'aviation à ondes courtes de téléphonie et de radiotélégraphie > Lien.

Certains émetteurs permettaient de mettre en liaison plusieurs canaux simultanément sur une seule fréquence (multiplexage ou téléconférence). Les équipements de l'époque fonctionnant encore largement avec des tubes à vide étaient lourds et encombrants. C'est ainsi qu'une partie des batteries était montée dans les conteneurs externes.

Mi-9 Mi-9 Mais la spécificité du commandement au niveau des divisions demandait parfois d'autres systèmes. D'autre part, les moyens de communication de l'Armée soviétique se modernisaient et le besoin pour une machine dédiée à la mission de commandement se faisait sentir. Aussi, répondant à une commande du Ministère de la défense, une nouvelle version spécialisée du Mi-8 vit-elle le jour en 1976. Ce nouvel appareil dérivé du Mi-8T fut désigné Mi-8IV car il emportait une suite de communication appelée "Ivolga" (oriole). Il entra cependant en production à l'usine n°387 de Kazan' en 1977 sous l'appellation Mi-9 ou "Hip-G" pour l'OTAN. Succédant au Mi-8VzPU, le Mi-9 était fort logiquement destiné aux liaisons avec les divisions blindées, d'infanterie motorisée et aériennes. Le "Hip-G" était reconnaissable à ses antennes en forme de crosse de hockey situées sous la poutre de queue et la porte de soute gauche. Une antenne droite était quant à elle attachée sous l'autre porte. Une antenne dipôle se présentant sous la forme de deux longs carénages ventraux était fixée sous le fuselage. Une autre antenne pivotant électriquement vers le bas était attachée sous le ventre, à la droite des deux carénages précités. Les portes de soute arrière étaient identiques à celles du modèle Mi-8PS déjà abordé, moins larges et avec un axe d'articulation vertical au lieu d'incliné.

Mi-9 Mi-9 Une porte d'accès était découpée au centre des deux portes de soute et une petite lampe était installée sous la poutre de queue afin d'éclairer la sortie. Les réservoirs de carburant étaient du type à capacité supérieure. Les Mi-9 déployés en RDA se présentaient sous différentes configuration (2). Ainsi, les premiers modèles étaient-ils dépourvus du boîtier doppler, tandis que quelques machines en furent ensuite dotées. D'autres Mi-9 modernisés emportaient des lance-leurres ASO-2V montés sur les flancs du fuselage entre le dernier hublot et les portes de soute. Dans ce dernier cas, on retouvait aussi un support pour un brouilleur à rayonnements infrarouges SOEP-V1A Lipa. Contrairement à son prédécesseur, l'aménagement interne du Mi-9 avait été étudié spécifiquement pour la suite de communications.

Mi-9 Mi-9 Cette dernière comprenait essentiellement une radio HF R-856MB (liaisons air et sol) qui travaillait avec les antennes en forme de crosse de hockey, une radio d'aviation VHF R-802VYa, et une autre VHF/UHF R-832M Evkalipt (eucalyptus) ainsi que deux exemplaires de radios R-111 pour communiquer avec les troupes au sol sur les bandes HF et VHF. Celles-ci fonctionnaient en vol en utilisant l'antenne pivotante logée sous le fuselage, ou au sol à l'aide d'une antenne montée sur un mât de 11 mètres (les flancs du Mi-9 comportaient des prises pour brancher les antennes terrestres). Le complexe embarqué comprenait également deux récepteurs R-886 (D et E) et un relais hetzien R-405P. Ce dernier ne pouvait être utilisé qu'au sol, avec une antenne fixée sur un mât de 16 mètres 50. L'ensemble était conçu pour des communications simples ou complexes (multiplexage), en vocal ou en télégraphie. Deux modules T-817 Yakhta (yacht) rendaient possible le cryptage des liaisons vocales, tandis qu'une machine M-125 Fialka (violette), lointaine descendante de l'Enigma allemande, permettait l'envoi et la réception de messages codés via un module P-590A. D'autre part, il y avait trois magnétophones à bord.

Mi-9 L'agencement intérieur comprenait quatre parties distinctes : le poste de pilotage, un centre de communications où trois opérateurs s'occupaient des divers équipements électroniques (BUS), un poste de commandement avec fauteuils, tables de lecture pour les cartes d'état-major et armoire de rangement avec serrures sécurisées (VzPU) - l'ensemble étant isolé du compartiment précédent par une cloison - et enfin, une soute pour le matériel isolée du compartiment de commandement par une autre cloison, et qui comprenait outre une partie des radios, les mâts d'antenne télescopiques et un groupe électrogène mobile AI-8 destiné à fournir la puissance électrique nécessaire lorsque le Mi-9 était installé en PC terrestre. Ce groupe pouvait également servir au démarrage des moteurs de l'hélicoptère, mais en pratique, il était souvent débarqué en raison de son poids atteignant près de 300 kg. Jusqu'à six personnes pouvaient occuper la soute qui était climatisée. Un dosimètre DP-3B faisait partie de la suite embarquée. L'équipage de conduite du Mi-9, très probablement comme celui des autres versions spécialisées, ignorait tout des équipements qu'il emportait.
Les Mi-9 n'avaient pas totalement supplanté les Mi-8VzPU lors de la chute du mur. Les deux modèles de ces postes de commandement aéroportés étaient alors affectés au escadrons ainsi qu'aux régiments autonomes d'hélicoptères de combat et de contrôle. Quelques Mi-9 étaient également affectés au 113.OSAE ainsi qu'aux QG des divisions d'aviation.
Enfin, il convient de noter que les Mi-8S, PS ou dits "Salon" tels que décrits dans la seconde partie de ce chapitre, étaient susceptibles d'emporter une suite de communication limitée qui leur conférait une certaine capacité de commandement.

notes

(1) On trouve tantôt la désignation BUS, tantôt la désignation VUS (Vspomogatel'niy Ouzel Svyazi - noeud de communications auxiliaire) dans la littérature
     spécialisée. La confusion classique avec le caractère cyrillique "B" qui se translittère par le caractère latin "V" semble d'actualité. Il existe cependant
     des interprétations en langue russe pour le terme VUS comme > ici.
     Les articles en langue russe mentionnent également le terme BUS pour lequel on trouve deux interprétations différentes :
     - Bortovoy Ouzel Svyazi ou centre de communications embarqué
     - Boevogo Oupravleniya i Svyazi ou contrôle au combat et communications
     Nous nous en tiendrons au terme BUS comme décrit dans le texte de cet article car trouvé dans un document qui semble fiable. Nous ne manquerons
     pas de mettre à jour cet article si cela s'avère nécessaire.
(2) Des Mi-9 observés en Russie et en Tchécoslovaquie n'étaient pas forcément équipés des mêmes radios et des mêmes antennes que celles décrites
     dans cet article.


Les Mi-8  < Part 1 < Part 2 < Part 3 < Part 4 > Part 6 > Part 7

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next