EE54 EE54 Like the Americans and the British, the French regularly scoured the air corridors linking West Berlin to the "free world" until the fall of the Berlin Wall. The different intelligence aircraft used in these clandestine reconnaissance flights generically were designated "Gabriel". This is their story.

C-47 Immediately after the end of the Second World War, the Western powers occupying the western part of Germany took advantage of the air corridors that allowed them to reach West Berlin by conducting reconnaissance flights in order to gather specific or general information on the Soviet forces stationed in the eastern part of Germany (1). When we look back at almost 45 years of presence in the Berlin Air Corridors, we can see that the Americans practiced photographic and electronic reconnaissance, while the British seemed to have performed photographic reconnaissance exclusively. As for the French, they executed mainly - but not only - flights to gather information through the analysis of the electromagnetic waves emanated by the Warsaw Pact forces.

The origins

C-47 Gabriel I The early history of French spy flights inside the air corridors remains mysterious. However, it is clear that the main platforms used were Douglas C-47 aircraft designated "Gabriel" specially equipped to collect electronic intelligence (2). The onboard equipment was subject to changes, and the modified aircraft saw their name change accordingly: Gabriel I, II, III and IV. Thus, we know that Gabriel III were used for COMINT missions during the war in Algeria (1954-1962) in 1959 - or perhaps even earlier.

C-47 Gabriel I or IV (3) flew intelligence missions in the Berlin air corridors between December 1957 and the early 1960s. These aircraft were attached to Air Liaison Squadron 55 (Escadrille de Liaison Aérienne - ELA 55) stationed at Lahr-Hugsweier in Germany - the tactical nuclear strike North American F-100D and F-100F Super Sabres of the Third Fighter Wing also were based on this airbase. ELA 55 also was assigned the first two N2501 Gabriel V, i.e., n°28 that would have joined the unit in late 1962, followed by n°42 in mid-1963. The C-47s probably flew alongside the new N2501 for a few months during a transition period. On April 1, 1963, Electronics Group 30.450 (GE 30.450) took up residence at Lahr. This unit was established to coordinate the work of the Gabriel and the ground monitoring stations.

Gabriel, Comel and la Grise (4)

N2501 EE54 The Nord N2501 Noratlas "Gabriel" epitomizes French reconnaissance flights in the Berlin air corridors to the point that one would think that this role had never been filled by any other aircraft type. The N2501 Gabriel V aircraft actually were N2501 Noratlas cargo birds converted into spy planes for COMINT and ELINT missions. While the modification of the first aircraft (n°28) dates back to 1960 as we have seen, the first aircraft did not join ELA 55 at Lahr before 1962/63 - the first mission would have been flown on October 29, 1962. In all, eight aircraft were modified: n°25, 28, 33, 36, 39, 41, 42, and 66. Incidentally, these aircraft were capable of carrying out photographic missions, although they used an unsatisfactory device for this task: the camera was tied with ropes to the top of the cabin and its operator took the pictures through the windows located at the rear of the clam shell cargo doors.

Antennes N2501 In 1966, the different operators' positions in the rear cabin were occupied as follows:
- 1/2: two ELINT positions using a AN/ALR8 for detection and localization of radars and analysis of their signals (50-10,750 MHz frequency band) > the two rotating antennas used for goniometric readings were housed under the two rounded fairings located under the fuselage.
- 3/4/6: three positions for voice intercept operators using VHF receivers in the 30-300 MHz frequency band and tape recorders.
- 5: a receiving station with a AN/NR8 MF radio compass and a recorder.
- 7: a team leader position, responsible for the report summary at the end of the mission.
- 8: one voice intercept operator position using a UHF receiver and recorder.
- 9: an operational traffic analyst.
- 10: a position isolated by a curtain that could be occupied by a coder-decoder (rarely) or a photographer or a passenger. The latter was sometimes a person from the French Military Liaison Mission (FMLM) provided the opportunity to collect additional information on selected targets - a number of flying hours had indeed been allocated for this task.
The VHF/UHF voice intercept operators understood Russian, German, Czech or sometimes Polish based to the assigned mission. Communications were recorded and translated simultaneously. Later, these operators became linguist-analysts. Finally, the "back-end" crew included an engineer in charge of the APU that was the only source of electricity for onboard equipment. At the beginning, the mechanic was monitoring a Peugeot 403 car engine installed at the rear of the cargo hold (on the first three aircraft) that functioned as an APU. A Turbomeca turbine housed in a fairing located on the right side of the forward fuselage played this role from 1967-68 on. The electronics were updated or modified over the years. The only piece of equipment that did not undergo significant change was the AN/ALR8, with the exception of its analytic and recording interfaces that were replaced by the "Smyrne" (Smyrna) system.

Gabriel Noratlas The "front-end" crew was composed of a pilot, a co-pilot, an engineer and two radio-navigators. While the operators in the cargo hold were members of the GE (Electronic Group), the aircraft crew came from the 54th Electronic Flight (Escadrille Electronique 54 or EE 54 - established on October 31, 1963, still at Lahr-Hugsweier). The mission commander was a pilot or a radio-navigator. The GE and EE 54 naturally had close ties. Until 1970, the EE 54 commander was also the GE deputy commander. The Gabriel aircraft were transferred from ELA 55 to EE 54 on January 1, 1964. This unit was christened "Dunkirk" in August of that year. Aircraft and crews reported to the Military Air Transport Command (Commandement du Transport Aérien Militaire - COTAM), but the unit was available to the 1st Tactical Air Command (1er Commandement Aérien Tactique - 1 CATac) and, from 1965 on, to the new Tactical Air Force (Force Aérienne Tactique - FATac).

N2501 The flight was then equipped with three N2501 Gabriel aircraft: n°28, 39 and 42. The 1st CATac launched the 1000th Comel - or Communications Electroniques (Electronic Communications) sortie as the missions were designated - on January 14 (C-47 and N2501 missions counted together). A Noratlas cargo aircraft (n°49) and a Gabriel (n°66) joined EE 54 in April, while an additional Gabriel (n°36) arrived in June. It should be noted that some Noratlas cargo aircraft (such as n°83 that also joined the unit) could perform photo missions as well. A removable cradle with cameras was used for this purpose. Unfortunately, it is difficult to know more, but it seems that a ventral hatch was necessary in order to use some equipment (see "The SA-10 saga" in the box below). The only marking on the aircraft was the construction number located on the nose and at the top of the vertical stabilizer (5). Cargo aircraft sometimes had a code; however, the only aircraft of the unit that ever received complete markings identifying it as an EE 54 aircraft was Noratlas cargo n°49.

N2501

GE 30.450 and EE 54 moved to Air Base n°128 at Metz-Frescaty in June 1966. The last mission from Lahr took place on June 15 (Comel n°1538), while the first mission from Metz was completed on August 2nd. GE 30.450 became GE 35.351 on July 1st. Gabriel n°41 had joined EE 54 in February, as well as n°25 before August and n°33 after September. Noratlas cargo n°49 was replaced by n°163 in February 1967. The 2000th Comel took place on November 8, 1968. GE 35.351 gave way to Tactical Electronic Group 30.341 (Groupement Electronique Tactique - GET 30.341) on September 1, 1971 to be finally replaced by the 54th Tactical Electronic Wing (Escadre Electronique Tactique - EET 00.054) on January 1, 1988. In so doing, the 54th EET took both flying and ground-based electronic warfare units under its control. Meanwhile, the 54th Electronic Flight had been redesignated the 54th Electronic Squadron (Escadron Electronique) or EE 1/54.

Versatile missions

Gabriel The Electronic Warfare Office (Bureau Guerre Electronique - BGE) of the 1st CATac - later the FATac - planned the intelligence missions based on data from the Tactical Intelligence Operations Center (Centre d'Exploitation du Renseignement Tactique - CERT). The BGE sent its orders (date, time, route, targets to cover, etc.) to the joint operations of the Electronic Group and the Electronic Flight. The main Gabriel missions took place from Metz toward the east (the GE also took part in national or allied exercises and, from the fall of 1969 on, the missions were extended to the Mediterranean and Africa). The missions were split into three main variants:
- RE1 along the Inner-German border > Diagram
- RE2 along the Czechoslovakian border > Diagram
- RE3 S, C or N in the Southern, Center and Northern Berlin air corridors, with a stopover at Berlin-Tegel and then return > Diagram

N2501 Mission "Baltique !" Les espions en transit au-dessus des eaux internationales faisaient l'objet d'une interception en bonne et due forme au large de la Suède neutre, quelle que soit leur nationalité. Ce Gabriel est vu ici en compagnie d'un Saab JA37 Viggen de la F7 de Satenas. © Flygvapnet.

"Baltic" mission! Spies in transit above the international waters were duly intercepted off neutral Sweden, whatever their nationality. This Gabriel is seen here alongside a Saab JA37 Viggen of the F7 from Satenas. © Flygvapnet.
Su-15TM This latter type of mission bore the designation "Baltic" when the aircraft flew through the northern corridor when it left Tegel. The Gabriel headed for Hamburg at the end of the northern corridor, then proceeded towards Malmö in Sweden prior to heading east over the Baltic Sea. The Gabriel then flew up to the edges of the Polish and Soviet borders, until ATC announced that it was leaving its airspace. The N2501 returned to Tegel six hours later. These missions took place only during winter time, because, when the weather was hot, the Noratlas range was insufficient. Such incursions over international waters, but close to the Swedish and Soviet borders, regularly triggered a reaction by the Swedish air defense forces that sent Draken or Viggen fighters to intercept the intruder. On the Soviet side, dedicated PVO interceptors such as Su-15s were launched to have a closer look and take pictures of these intrusive Gabriels. Flights along the German and Czechoslovak borders at an altitude of 3400-4600 meters (levels 100/150) and a speed of 260 km/h lasted about 6H30. The aircraft were not pressurized, so oxygen bottles and masks were available to the crew. The N2501 remained outside the Air Defense Identification Zone (ADIZ) that ran along the borders with the GDR and Czechoslovakia. However, the aircraft were sometimes intercepted by allied fighters as a consequence of flying near the ADIZ.

Carte N2501 Before the first Gabriel aircraft were equipped with an APU turbine, flight duration was longer, between 7 and 7H30. The interception of messages from Soviet or national aircraft flying on the other side of the border indicated that the Gabriel had been identified.
Inside the Berlin air corridors - the crew members took a parachute for these missions - flights took place at an altitude close to the maximum-allowed 3000 meters, that is to say, flight levels 80 or 90 (2450 - 2750 meters), or much lower when the tasking was to take pictures. The N2501 was assigned fake radio call signs selected from a list provided by the COTAM. These call signs were changed for each mission. Comfort aboard was almost nonexistent: operators achieved success intercepting and translating enemy radio communications despite the engine noise, the permanent whistling of the turbine and turbulence. Navigation, of paramount importance in the corridors, depended mainly on the quality of the radio-navigators, while the pilots flew the aircraft manually most of the time. During their penetration into the GDR, the electronic equipment of the Gabriel platform could cover the entire territory and even a little beyond the GDR-Polish border.

Gabriel Gabriel The planes were tracked by the air defense radars - Soviet radar operators called the Gabriel the "crawfish". Of course, the Soviets knew the difference between a standard Noratlas and a Gabriel. Fighters were sometimes sent for visual identification. They positioned themselves under the Gabriel to check the presence of the two ventral radomes and announced on the radio "it's a male!" The Gabriel also represented a target of choice to train fighter pilots and SAM battery operators! In doing so, these actions constituted a good source of information for the French crews... Gabriel navigators were sometimes subjected to "meaconing" attempts. That consisted of reemitting the radio beacon emissions on the same frequency to disrupt navigation and, in such circumstances, the Gabriel could have drifted outside the corridors. However, the onboard operators were able with a few minutes delay to determine the Gabriel's position as it was seen on the PVO radar scopes, because they intercepted the signals the radar sites sent to their command center. But, what would have happened if a Gabriel had been forced to land in the GDR? There were only verbal instructions: tear all documents and maps into small pieces and then throw them out through the opening of the marker flare ejector (a process that would have been very time consuming?), eat the code and, once landed, the last to leave the plane had to open gas draining taps inside the fuselage and discharge an emergency flare to set fire to the aircraft... Missions were generally carried out during daytime, but the routine would change during Warsaw Pact exercises, unusual activity or in time of crisis. As an example, a Gabriel that had departed Metz between 9 and 10 o'clock landed at Tegel usually around 15-16H00 and its crew spent the night there. The mission reports were then sent to Metz via the local ground monitoring station. But, timetables could obviously vary based upon the missions and contingencies and the plane might even go back to Metz on the same day.

The SA-10 saga

In 1977, signals on new frequencies were intercepted during a mission inside the Berlin corridors. Emissions were rare and stopped as soon as the plane approached. It was thought that these signals emanated from the new SA-10 (S-300) SAM system. A trap was organized to gather more information about this target of choice. For this purpose, a mission was prepared involving two N2501, a Noratlas cargo and a Gabriel. The cargo aircraft that was equipped for photography would fly though the central corridor where the new SAM system had been spotted, presumably in the Letzlinger Heide training area north of Magdeburg. The Gabriel would fly through the northern corridor and monitor the airwaves. Upon entering that corridor, the Gabriel already notified the Noratlas cargo aircraft that it was receiving the suspicious emissions. The 75mm Omera 40 panoramic camera and the trimetrogon (probably composed of three 600mm Omera 36 cameras, one vertical and two in oblique position for horizon-to-horizon photography) were triggered for the overflight of the training range, but the emissions ceased when the Noratlas was over the target. However, photographs revealed the radar vehicle, with the added bonus of the antenna retraction sequence and a 3D view that provided verification of the frequencies used. It was the first aerial photography of this type of equipment that generally only operated under cloud cover to escape the curiosity of the American satellites. From C. Fontaine in "Les avions de Renseignement Electronique"

notes

SIGINT   : SIGnal INTelligence. Encompass COMINT and ELINT
COMINT : COMmunication INTelligence or intelligence on voice communications
ELINT     : ELectronic INTelligence or intelligence on electronic signals


(1) Intelligence activities later also concerned the East German National People's Army (NVA) that was officially established on January 18, 1956.
(2) Gabriel is the patron saint of signal personnel. The name could also mean "Groupement Aérien de BRouillage et d'Interception Electronique"
     (Jamming and Electronic Interception Air Group).
(3) Aircraft identified:
     C-47B 43-49454 (Dakota IV KK134) - c/n 15270/26715 - F-UJGN - 01-1958 / 12-1965
     C-47B 44-76721 (Dakota IV KN515) - c/n 16305/33053 - F-UJGG - 12-1957 / 09-1963
     This aircraft was modified as a "Turbo" DC-3 (Basler 67) by Basler in November 1989.
(4) The Gabriel V was simply designated "Gabriel" or "Comel" for Communications Electroniques. "La Grise" (the Gray) was also the nickname of any
     version of the Noratlas.
(5) N°25 that was delivered to the firemen at Tegel had the code "VM". When was it applied? N°28 has been photographed with the EE 54 unit badge on
     the nose. N°66 had the EE 1/54 emblem on the nose when it made the last flight of a French AF N2501 on October 26, 1989. That aircraft had
     temporarily received the ETOM 88 badge in 1976 after a deployment to Djibouti.


Jamming the Foxbat

Gabriel over Germany  > Part 2

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

EE54 EE54 A l'instar des Américains et des Britanniques, les Français sillonnèrent régulièrement les couloirs aériens reliant Berlin-Ouest au monde dit libre jusqu'à la chute du mur de Berlin. Les différents appareils de renseignement utilisés lors de ces vols de reconnaissance clandestins portaient l'appellation générique "Gabriel". Voici leur histoire.

C-47 Dès après la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale, les puissances occidentales occupant la partie ouest de l'Allemagne profitèrent des couloirs aériens leur permettant de rejoindre Berlin-Ouest pour y effectuer des vols de reconnaissance afin de recueillir des renseignements ciblés ou d'ordre général sur les forces soviétiques présentes en Allemagne orientale (1). Si nous dressons un bilan global sur près de 45 années de présence dans les couloirs, nous pouvons constater que les Américains pratiquèrent autant la reconnaissance photographique qu'électronique, tandis que les Britanniques semblent s'être consacrés exclusivement au renseignement photo. Les Français quant à eux exécutèrent essentiellement - mais pas uniquement - des vols visant à obtenir des informations grâce à l'analyse des ondes électromagnétiques des forces du pacte de Varsovie.

Les origines

C-47 Gabriel I L'histoire des premières années d'activités d'espionnage françaises dans les couloirs reste actuellement un quasi-mystère. Il est cependant clair que les appareils principaux qui furent utilisés étaient des Douglas C-47 spécialement aménagés pour le recueil de renseignements électroniques qui étaient appelés "Gabriel" (2). L'équipement embarqué faisant l'objet de changements, les appareils modifiés virent leur désignation évoluer en conséquence: Gabriel I, II, III et IV. Ainsi, nous savons que des Gabriel III ont été utilisés lors de missions COMINT pendant la guerre d'Algérie (1954-1962) dès 1959 - ou peut-être avant.

C-47 Des Gabriel IV assurèrent les vols de renseignement dans les couloirs de Berlin entre décembre 1957 et le début des années soixante (3). Ces avions étaient attachés à l'Escadrille de Liaison Aérienne 55 (ELA 55) stationnée à Lahr-Hugsweier en RFA - les North American F-100D et F Super Sabre de frappe nucléaire tactique de la Troisième Escadre de Chasse étaient également opérationnels sur cette plateforme. L'ELA 55 mettait aussi en oeuvre les deux premiers N2501 Gabriel V, c'est-à-dire le n°28 qui aurait rejoint l'unité en octobre 1962, suivi au milieu de l'année suivante par le n°42. Les C-47 sont restés en service pendant encore quelques mois, le temps de mettre en place définitivement les nouveaux N2501, la dernière mission sur C-47 ayant lieu le 15 mai 1963. Les avions opéraient alors au profit de l'Escadron de Guerre Electronique (EGE) 30/813. Cette unité contrôlait aussi bien l'action des Gabriel que celle des stations d'écoute au sol. Le premier avril 1963, c'est le Groupe Electronique 30/450 (GE 30/450) qui pris ses quartiers à Lahr, succédant ainsi à l'EGE 30/813.

Gabriel, Comel et la Grise (4)

N2501 EE54 Le Nord N2501 Noratlas "Gabriel" symbolise à lui seul les vols de reconnaissance français dans les couloirs de Berlin, à tel point que l'on peut avoir l'impression que ce rôle n'a jamais été rempli par d'autres appareils. Les N2501 Gabriel V étaient des avions cargo N2501 Noratlas convertis en avions espions pour des missions de type COMINT et ELINT. Si la modification de l'appareil initial (n°28) remonte à 1960, comme nous l'avons vu, les premiers avions ne rejoignirent l'ELA 55 à Lahr qu'en 1962/63 - la première mission aurait eu lieu le 29 ou le 31 octobre 1962. Au total, ce sont huit machines qui furent transformées : n°25, 28, 33, 36, 39, 41, 42 et 66. Accessoirement, ces avions étaient capables de mener à bien des missions photo malgré que pour cette tâche, il était fait appel à un "système D" peu satisfaisant. Qu'on en juge : l'appareil photo était à cette fin attaché avec des cordes au sommet de la carlingue et son opérateur tirait à travers les hublots situés à l'arrière des portes de soute en forme de demi-coquilles.

Antennes N2501 En 1966, les différents postes aménagés dans la soute étaient occupés comme suit :
- 1/2 : deux postes ELINT utilisant un AN/ALR8 pour la détection et la localisation des radars ainsi que l'analyse de leurs signaux (bande de fréquences 50-10750 MHz) > les deux radômes sous le fuselage abritaient les antennes rotatives de relevé goniométrique du système.
- 3/4/6 : trois postes de linguistes-intercepteurs utilisant des récepteurs VHF dans la bande 30-300 MHz et des enregistreurs à bande magnétique.
- 5 : un poste de réception MF avec un radio-compas AN/NR8 et un enregistreur.
- 7 : un poste de chef d'équipe responsable du rapport de synthèse à l'issue de la mission.
- 8 : un poste de linguiste-intercepteur utilisant un récepteur UHF et un enregistreur.
- 9 : un poste d'analyste du trafic opérationnel.
- 10 : un poste isolé par un rideau pouvant être occupé par un codeur-décodeur (rarement) ou un photographe ou un passager. Celui-ci était parfois un militaire de la MMFL qui avait ainsi l'occasion de collecter des renseignements supplémentaires sur des objectifs choisis - un certain nombre d'heures de vol avait en effet été alloué pour cette tâche.
Les linguistes-intercepteurs V-UHF comprenaient le Russe, l'Allemand, le Tchèque ou parfois le Polonais, selon la mission à accomplir. Les communications étaient enregistrées et traduites en même temps. Plus tard, ces opérateurs furent requalifiés "linguistes-analystes." Enfin, l'équipage "arrière" comprenait un mécanicien responsable de l'APU qui constituait l'unique source permettant d'alimenter en électricité les équipements embarqués. Au début, le mécano surveillait un moteur de voiture Peugeot 403 qui faisait office de groupe auxiliaire (sur les trois premiers appareils) installé au fond de la soute. C'est une turbine Turbomeca logée dans un carénage à l'avant droit du fuselage qui pris le relais à partir de 1967-68. La suite électronique fut mise à jour ou changée au cours des années. Seul l'AN/ALR8 ne subira pas de changement notoire, si ce n'est au niveau des interfaces d'analyse et d'enregistrement qui seront remplacées par le système "Smyrne."

Gabriel Noratlas L'équipage "avant" était composé d'un pilote, d'un co-pilote, d'un mécanicien et de deux radio-navigateurs. Si les opérateurs en soute arrière étaient membres du GE (Groupe Electronique), l'équipage de conduite de l'appareil provenait de l'Escadrille Electronique 54 (EE 54, mise sur pied le premier janvier 1964, toujours à Lahr-Hugsweier. Les Gabriel furent transférés de l'ELA 55 à l'EE 54, la dernière mission avec l'ELA 55 ayant lieu le 3 janvier). C'est un pilote ou un radio-navigateur qui était commandant de mission. Le GE et l'EE 54 avaient naturellement des liens étroits. Jusque 1970, le commandant de l'EE 54 était d'ailleurs également commandant en second du GE. L'escadrille fut baptisée "Dunkerque" au mois d'août de la même année. Avions et équipages dépendaient du Commandement du Transport Aérien Militaire (COTAM), mais l'unité était à disposition du 1er Commandement Aérien Tactique (CATac), puis de la Force Aérienne Tactique (FATac) à partir de 1965.

N2501 L'escadrille mettait alors en ligne trois N2501 Gabriel n°28, 39 (spécialisé dans la détection et l'analyse des radars) et 42. La millième Comel - ou Communications Electroniques comme étaient désignées les missions - déclenchée par le 1er CATac eut lieu le 14 janvier avec le N2501 n°28 (missions sur C-47 et N2501 étant comptabilisées ensemble). Un Noratlas cargo de servitude (n°49) et un Gabriel (n°66) rejoignirent l'EE 54 en avril, tandis qu'un Gabriel supplémentaire (n°36) arrivait en juin. Il est à noter que certains Noratlas cargo (comme le n°83 qui fit également partie des effectifs de l'unité) pouvaient aussi exécuter des missions photo. Ils emportaient à cette fin un bâti démontable où étaient fixées la ou les caméras. Il est malheureusement difficile d'en savoir plus, mais il semble que pour mettre en oeuvre certains appareils (voir encadré "Le SA-10 débusqué" plus bas) une trappe découpée dans le plancher était indispensable. Si les Gabriel de l'escadrille ne portaient pas d'autres marquages que leur numéro en haut des dérives et sur le nez (5), les appareils de servitude arborèrent néanmoins parfois un code. Cependant, le seul appareil ayant jamais reçu des marquages complets l'identifiant comme étant un appareil de l'EE 54, fut le Noratlas cargo n°49.

N2501

Le GE 30/450 ainsi que l'EE 54 firent mouvement sur la Base Aérienne 128 à Metz-Frescaty en juin 1966. La dernière mission depuis Lahr eut lieu le 15 juin (Comel n°1538), tandis que la première au départ de Metz fut réalisée le 2 août. Le premier juillet, le GE 30/450 devint le GE 35/351. Le Gabriel n°41 avait rejoint les rangs de l'EE 54 en février, de même que le n°25 avant août et le n°33 après septembre. Le cargo n°49 fut remplacé par le n°163 en février 1967. La 8 novembre 1968 avait lieu la 2000ème Comel. Le GE 35/351 céda la place au Groupement Electronique Tactique 30/341 (GET 30/341) le premier septembre 1971 pour être finalement remplacé par la 54ème Escadre Electronique Tactique (EET 00/054) le premier janvier 1988. Ce faisant, la 54ème EET prenait sous son gyron aussi bien les unités de guerre électronique aériennes que terrestres. Entre-temps, l'Escadrille Electronique 54 fut redésignée Escadron Electronique 54 ou EE 1/54.

Missions tous azimuts

Gabriel Les missions de renseignement étaient planifiées par le Bureau Guerre Electronique (BGE) du 1er CATac, puis de la FATac, en se basant sur les données du Centre d'Exploitation du Renseignement Tactique (CERT). Le BGE envoyait ses ordres (date, heure, itinéraire, objectifs à couvrir etc.) aux opérations conjointes du Groupe Electronique et de l'Escadrille Electronique. Les missions principales des Gabriel se déroulaient au départ de Metz en direction de l'est (le GE prenait également part à des exercices nationaux ou interalliés et à partir de l'automne 1969, les missions furent étendues vers la Méditerranée et l'Afrique). Elles se décomposaient selon trois variantes principales :
- RE1 le long de la frontière interallemande > Schéma
- RE2 le long de la frontière tchécoslovaque > Schéma
- RE3 S, C ou N dans les couloirs aériens sud, centre et nord de Berlin avec escale à Berlin-Tegel et retour > Schéma

N2501 Mission "Baltique !" Les espions en transit au-dessus des eaux internationales faisaient l'objet d'une interception en bonne et due forme au large de la Suède neutre, quelle que soit leur nationalité. Ce Gabriel est vu ici en compagnie d'un Saab JA37 Viggen de la F7 de Satenas. © Flygvapnet.

"Baltic" mission! Spies in transit above the international waters were duly intercepted off neutral Sweden, whatever their nationality. This Gabriel is seen here alongside a Saab JA37 Viggen of the F7 from Satenas. © Flygvapnet.
Su-15TM Ce dernier type de mission prenait la désignation de "Baltique" lorsque l'avion empruntait le couloir nord quand il quittait Tegel. Il mettait le cap sur Hambourg, au bout du couloir nord, puis se dirigeait vers Malmö en Suède, avant de mettre le cap à l'est au-dessus de la Mer Baltique. Le Gabriel évoluait alors jusqu'aux abords des frontières polonaises et soviétiques, jusqu'à ce que le contrôle aérien annonce qu'il sortait de son espace. Le N2501 rejoignait ensuite Tegel au bout de six heures. Ces missions n'avaient lieu qu'en hiver, car par temps chaud, l'autonomie du Noratlas aurait été insuffisante. De telles incursions au-dessus des eaux internationales mais proches des frontières suédoises et soviétiques entraînaient régulièrement une réaction de la défense aérienne suédoise qui dépêchait sur place Draken ou Viggen, tandis que du côté soviétique, ce sont des intercepteurs dédiés de la PVO tels que les Su-15, qui venaient voir de plus près et photographier ces Gabriels indiscrets.
Les vols le long des frontières allemandes et tchécoslovaques duraient environ 6H30 à une altitude de 3400 à 4600 mètres (niveaux 100 / 150) et à une vitesse de 260 km/h. Les avions n'étant pas pressurisés, bouteilles d'oxygène et masques étaient à disposition de l'équipage. Les N2501 restaient hors de la zone d'identification de la défense aérienne (ADIZ) qui courait le long des frontières avec la RDA et la Tchécoslovaquie. Toutefois, voler aussi près le l'Air Defence Identification Zone avait parfois pour conséquence d'être intercepté par des chasseurs alliés.

Carte N2501 Lorsque les premiers Gabriel n'étaient pas encore équipés d'une turbine APU, la durée des vols était plus longue, soit de 7 à 7H30. L'interception de communications provenant des appareils soviétiques ou nationaux volant de l'autre côté de la frontière indiquait que le Gabriel avait été identifié.
A l'intérieur des couloirs aériens de Berlin - les hommes d'équipage emportaient un parachute pour ces missions particulières - les vols se déroulaient à une altitude proche des 3000 mètres maximum autorisés, c'est-à-dire aux niveaux de vol 80 ou 90 (2450 - 2750 mètres), ou nettement plus bas lorsqu'il était prévu de faire des photos. De faux indicatifs radio, choisis dans une liste fournie par le COTAM, étaient attribués aux N2501. Ces indicatifs étaient changés à chaque mission. Le confort à bord était quasi inexistant : les opérateurs réalisaient des prouesses en traduisant les communications radio adverses dans le bruit des moteurs, le sifflement permanent de la turbine et les turbulences. La navigation, primordiale dans les couloirs, reposait essentiellement sur la qualité des radio-navigateurs, tandis que le pilotage était la plupart du temps manuel. Lors de leur pénétration en RDA, les équipements électroniques des Gabriel pouvaient couvrir l'entièreté du territoire jusqu'à un peu au-delà de la frontière polonaise.

Gabriel Gabriel Les avions étaient traqués par les radars de la défense aérienne et les opérateurs radar russes surnommaient le Gabriel l'écrevisse. Bien entendu, les Soviétiques connaissaient la différence entre un Noratlas standard et un Gabriel. Des chasseurs étaient parfois envoyés pour une identification visuelle. Ils se plaçaient alors sous le Gabriel pour observer la présence des deux radômes ventraux et annonçaient à la radio "c'est un mâle !" Les Gabriel représentaient également un objectif de choix pour l'entraînement des pilotes de chasse d'en face et les servants de batteries SAM ! Ce faisant, ces actions constituaient une bonne source de renseignement pour les opérateurs français... Les équipages de Gabriel étaient parfois soumis à des tentatives de "meaconing" (transplexion). Il s'agissait de ré émettre les transmissions des balises radio sur leur propre fréquence afin de perturber la navigation et faire ainsi dériver les Gabriel hors des couloirs. Toutefois, les opérateurs embarqués parvenaient à connaître avec un retard de quelques minutes la position de l'avion telle qu'elle était vue par les radars de la PVO, grâce à l'interception de leurs signaux transmis à leur centre de commandement. Mais que se serait-il passé si un Gabriel avait été forcé d'atterrir en RDA ? Il existait des consignes verbales uniquement : déchirer en petits morceaux tous les documents et les cartes pour ensuite les jeter par l'orifice du lance-fusées (un processus qui aurait été très ou trop long ?), manger les codes et une fois posé, le dernier à quitter l'avion devait ouvrir les purges d'essence dans la carlingue et tirer une fusée de détresse pour incendier l'appareil... Les missions étaient généralement exécutées de jour, mais la routine pouvait changer durant les exercices du pacte de Varsovie, une activité inhabituelle ou en temps de crise. A titre d'exemple, un Gabriel qui avait décollé de Metz entre 9 et 10 heures du matin atterrissait habituellement à Tegel vers 15-16H00 et son équipage y passait la nuit. Les comptes rendus de mission étaient alors envoyés à Metz par l'intermédiaire des moyens de la station d'écoute au sol locale. Mais les horaires étaient évidemment variables en fonction des missions et des impondérables et l'avion pouvait aussi bien rentrer à Metz le jour-même.

LE SA-10 DEBUSQUE

En 1977, de nouvelles fréquences furent captées lors d'une mission dans les couloirs de Berlin. Les émissions étaient rares et cessaient dès que l'avion s'en approchait. On pensait qu'il s'agissait du nouveau système sol-air SA-10 (S-300). Un piège fut monté afin de rassembler davantage d'informations sur cet objectif de premier choix. Pour cela, une mission fut préparée avec deux N2501, un cargo et un Gabriel. Le Noratlas cargo équipé photo devait emprunter le couloir central où le nouveau système de défense sol-air avait été repéré, vraisemblablement sur le champ de manoeuvre de Letzlinger Heide au nord de Magdebourg. Le Gabriel quant à lui, devait suivre le couloir nord et surveiller les ondes. Dès son entrée dans le couloir, le Noratlas cargo fut informé par le Gabriel qu'il captait les émissions suspectes. La caméra Omera 40 (appareil panoramique de 75 mm) et le trimétrogone (soit sans doute trois caméras Omera 36 de 600 mm, une verticale et deux obliques pour assurer une couverture d'horizon à horizon) furent déclenchés pour le survol du terrain d'exercice mais les émissions cessèrent lorsque le Noratlas se trouva à la verticale de l'objectif. Cependant, les photographies révélèrent le véhicule radar avec en prime la séquence de rentrée des antennes et une vue en 3D, l'ensemble permettant de vérifier les fréquences utilisées. Il s'agissait de la première photo aérienne de ce type de matériel qui ne sortait généralement que sous couverture nuageuse afin d'échapper à la curiosité des satellites américains. D'après C. Fontaine dans "Les avions de Renseignement Electronique"

notes

SIGINT   : SIGnal INTelligence ou renseignement électronique. Regroupe le COMINT et l'ELINT
COMINT : COMmunication INTelligence ou renseignement portant sur les communications vocales
ELINT     : ELectronic INTelligence ou renseignement portant sur les signaux électroniques


(1) La recherche de renseignement concerna ensuite également L'Armée populaire nationale est-allemande (NVA) créée officiellement le 18 janvier
     1956.
(2) Gabriel est le saint protecteur des transmetteurs.
     Le nom signifierait "Groupement Aérien de BRouillage et d'Interception ELectronique."
     Une autre interprétation donne "Groupement Aérien de Bouillage de Recherche et d'Identification ELectronique."
(3) Machines identifiées :
     C-47B 43-49454 (Dakota IV KK134) - c/n 15270/26715 - F-UJGN - 01-1958 / 12-1965
     C-47B 44-76721 (Dakota IV KN515) - c/n 16305/33053 - F-UJGG - 12-1957 / 09-1963
     Le 44-76721 a été transformé par Basler en "Turbo" (Basler 67) en novembre 1989.
     Selon Xavier Capy, la première mission aurait eu lieu le 3 mars 1958.
(4) Les Gabriel V étaient simplement désignés "Gabriel" ou encore "Comel" pour Communications Electroniques.
     "La Grise" était également un surnom qui désignait toute version du N2501.
(5) Le n°25 abandonné aux pompiers de Tegel portait le code VM. Quand fut-il appliqué ? Le n°28 a été photographié avec l'emblème de l'EE 54.
     Le n°66 portait le blason de l'EE 1/54 lorsqu'il effectua le dernier vol d'un N2501 de l'Armée de l'air le 26 octobre 1989. Cet avion avait reçu
     momentanément l'insigne de l'ETOM 88 en 1976 après un passage à Djibouti.


Les aléas des ondes électromagnétiques

Gabriel sur l'Allemagne  > Part 2

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next